Our Offices & Partners Abroad

Dossier >

Cahiers d’Artistes

Cahiers d'Artistes in Moscow © Grigory Matveev

Information

Josiane Imhasly
Visual Arts Specialist

Contact

Detailed information at

cahiers.ch

With its Collection Cahiers d’Artistes, the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia enables emerging Swiss artists the publication of an initial monographic publication and provides arts specialists and interested audiences with a window to current trends in the Swiss arts scene.

Every two years and based on the recommendation of a jury, Pro Helvetia selects eight artists who applied in response to a public call for applications. The ensuing publication is the result of close collaboration between the artist concerned, the author, the graphic designers, the publishers and Pro Helvetia.

Through its national and international networks and its direct contacts with institutions, Pro Helvetia distributes the Cahiers d’Artistes to curators and critics around the world. It also fosters debate on the topics of the publication at various public events.

The Swiss Arts Council launched the Collection Cahiers d’Artistes in 1984. Taken as a whole, the series offers an extensive view of Swiss arts production over the past 35 years.

 

Archive

All Cahiers d’Artistes can be accessed digitally via the archive. It includes publications by artists such as Fischli/Weiss (1985), Pipilotti Rist (1994), Valentin Carron (2004) and Claudia Comte (2014), and texts by critics such as Jean-Christophe Ammann (1986), Rein Wolfs (1999), Dorothea Strauss (2004) and Chris Kraus (2019). Around 160 Cahiers d’Artistes have been published to date. The website also contains a list with the names of all the artists who have published a Cahiers d’Artistes and the authors who wrote an accompanying text in the Cahiers.

These monographs were initially self-published. Towards the end of the 1990s, Lars Müller Publishers was commissioned with the publication, before the responsibility was assigned to Edizioni Periferia, Luzern/Poschiavo in 2006. The design of the Cahiers has been in the hands of the graphic design studio Bonbon in Zurich since 2015.

Orders

The series VI-XV (from 2006 to the present day) can be ordered at Edizioni Periferia. Earlier series are mostly out of print; for further information please contact Josiane Imhasly.

Eight Cahiers d’Artistes of the following artists are due to be published in June 2021:

Dorota Gawęda *1986 Lublin PL and Eglė Kulbokaitė *1987 Kaunas LT, living and working in Basel

Dorota Gawęda and Eglė Kulbokaitė are avid readers. This is reflected by their long-term project called YOUNG GIRL READING GROUP, which was launched in 2013 and represented the starting point of their collaboration as a duo. According to author Jeppe Ugelvig, their art is like a station that broadcasts stories. The two artists draw from a variety of sources, yet they are increasingly moving away from Western academic discourse and closer to folklore and other popular sources (e.g. folkloric myths , stories about magical practices and court records documenting witch trials). Key topics of their practice include our relationship with nature and technology, and gender-related issues. With their multi-media works, which include performance, video, fragrances, installations, sculpture and photography, they offer audiences alternative forms of presentation and perception.

 

Dorota Gawęda and Eglė Kulbokaitė, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Dorota Gawęda and Eglė Kulbokaitė / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

gawedakulbokaite.com

 

Roman Gysin *1984 Möhlin, lives and works in Zürich

Roman Gysin derived inspiration for his Cahier d’Artistes from the design of fashion and interior design magazines, which is not surprising given his predilection for decoration and a camp aesthetic based on everyday culture and its exaggeration. In a playful way, he combines pictures showing his studio with views of his works and photographs that were taken by himself or from his collection. The motives and ornaments of the photographs enter into a fascinating dialogue with his own, skilfully hand-crafted works. In the accompanying text, Sylvain Menétrey explores the links of Gysin’s work to (post-)minimalism and queer aesthetics and explores the means by which the artist effortlessly dissolves the borders between highbrow and popular culture.

 


Roman Gysin, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Roman Gysin / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

romangysin.com

 

Andreas Hochuli *1982 Zurich, lives and works in Geneva

In his Cahier d’Artistes, Andreas Hochuli presents a catalogue raisonné of his paintings to date. The digitally hung 131 pictures are presented as if by a gliding camera, which is in keeping with his work method involving digital conceptualisation and physical execution. Pictures of bodies are aligned with abstract forms and images of words (e.g. Wohnen, bauen denken [dwelling, building, thinking]). Hochuli is interested in people, their relations and identities, as well as in the current state and future development of society. His works contain references to sociology, music and the history of art. They explore signs and their cultural background, always with an element of humour and often also with a touch of melancholy. The publication is interspersed with texts by the artist, which together with his paintings enter into an associative dialogue with the poetic text written by Ingo Niermann.

 


Andreas Hochuli, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Andreas Hochuli / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

andreashochuli.com

 

Sandra Knecht *1968, lives and works in Buus

Sandra Knecht is well-known for Immer wieder sonntags [Always on Sundays], her unique culinary creations and hosting at “Chnächt”, a barn that she transported from the Jura region to the banks of the Rhine in Basel. Her artistic cooking practice is at the heart of the Cahier d’Artistes and the text by Koyo Kouoh. This practice includes the preservation of her “homeland” as well as a quest for identity through fragrances and taste, hospitality and the exploration of the transformative potential of preparing food and eating together. The monograph also shows how Sandra Knecht uses photography, video, sculpture, and installation as means of processing and expressing key concerns of hers – responsibility, equality and transformation.

 


Sandra Knecht, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Sandra Knecht / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

sandraknecht.ch

 

Marie Matusz *1994 Toulouse, lives and works in Basel and Zurich

In her Cahier d’Artistes, Marie Matusz presents black-and-white photographs of her great-grandmother’s home, a richly decorated house containing countless reproductions of classical paintings. The year printed on the photos imply that they were taken in 1994 – a technical error that fascinates the artist. For she is not only interested in sociology and linguistics, but also in philosophy and questions regarding the dissolution of time and space. Other groups of works by Marie Matusz depicted in the Cahier d’Artistes deal with topics such as historical and contemporary power structures, nature and justice. Alan Longino describes the mood in her work with a term borrowed from Thomas Gray, leucocholy, meaning a “good easy sort of state”, a “white melancholy”. Terms with which Marie Matusz can identify.

 


Marie Matusz, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Marie Matusz / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

Noha Mokhtar *1987 Geneva, lives and works in Zurich and New York City

Inspired by ethnographical research methods, Noha Mokhtar’s artistic practice comprises photography, installation and objects. She explores ways in which spaces and objects interrelate with social and political themes and various manifestations of power. History, culture and domesticity are key terms in this context. A special focus of hers is on the influence that space and material objects of a specific environment exert on the enactment of social relations. In the Cahier d’Artistes, Mokhtar combines her own photographs with found images as well as with objects and short texts. Sarah Rifky’s essay offers methods for analysing Mokhtar’s work based on the following terms: fold, rotation, dream, pattern, glitter, cast, break, repetition, descent, dream, fold.

 


Noha Mokhtar, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Noha Mokhtar / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

nohamokhtar.ch

 

Elena Montesinos *1971, lives and works in Geneva

Elena Montesinos is a cultural agitator in the best possible sense. She bubbles over with ideas for artistic or curatorial projects. These are not always realised, for a variety of reasons: because of exorbitant production costs, because they are rejected outright, because they are too unsettling, or simply because they are illegal. In her Cahier d’Artistes entitled UNRELEASED, 20 unpublished projects are given a literary staging by The Montesinos Foundation. The Cahier offers audiences a journey through Elena Montesinos’ world of fantasy, in which she can realise her activist and transformative potential without restriction. Because collaboration and a variety of voices are so important to her, she invited five of her companions (Samuel Gross, Eve-Marie Knoerle, Irène Languin, Luca Pattaroni and Claude-Hubert Tatot) to write a short text each about different aspects of her work (e.g. ecology and humour).

 


Elena Montesinos / The Montesinos Foundation, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Elena Montesinos / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

themontesinosfoundation.org

 

Ramaya Tegegne *1985 Geneva, lives and works in Geneva

Ramaya Tegegne spotlights mechanisms of dominance and power structures within  culture by observing their economics, circulation and historical narratives. She creates performances and installations, and advocates alternative and fair economic practices in the world of arts with a campaign entitled Wages For Wages Against. The aim is to achieve better working conditions and appropriate remuneration for arts practitioners. Ramaya Tegegne’s Cahier d’Artiste presents an overview of her artistic and activist projects and discusses the economic conditions under which they were realised. The accompanying text by Chaédria LaBouvier places her work in contexts of activism, race and gender as well as mutual care (“We Are Each Other’s Business, We Are Each Other’s Harvest”).

 


Ramaya Tegegne, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Ramaya Tegegne / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

ramaya.ch

 

Orders

Currently available Cahiers d’Artistes can be ordered at Edizioni Periferia.

periferia.ch

Jury

  • Fanni Fetzer, Director of Kunstmuseum Luzern
  • Luca Frei, Artist, Lugano/Malmö
  • Samuel Leuenberger, Curator of SALTS and Art Parcours, Basel
  • Denis Pernet, Associate Curator of Audemars Piguet Art Programme, Lausanne

Other Dossiers

Unsere Büros und Partner weltweit

Dossier >

Cahiers d’Artistes

Cahiers d'Artistes in Moscow © Grigory Matveev

Auskünfte

Josiane Imhasly
Fachspezialistin Visuelle Künste

Kontakt

Detaillierte Informationen unter

cahiers.ch

Mit der Collection Cahiers d’Artistes ermöglicht Pro Helvetia vielversprechenden Schweizer Künstlerinnen und Künstlern die Herausgabe einer ersten monografischen Publikation und bietet Fachpersonen aus der Kunstwelt sowie dem interessierten Kunstpublikum ein Schaufenster zu aktuellen Tendenzen der Schweizer Kunstszene.

Pro Helvetia wählt auf Empfehlung einer Jury alle zwei Jahre acht Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus, die sich auf eine öffentliche Ausschreibung hin bewerben. Die Publikationen entstehen in enger Zusammenarbeit der Kunstschaffenden mit den Autorinnen und Autoren, dem Grafikbüro, dem Verlag und Pro Helvetia.

Durch ihr nationales und internationales Netzwerk und im direkten Kontakt mit Institutionen bringt die Schweizer Kulturstiftung die Cahiers d’Artistes in die Hände von Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren, sowie Kritikerinnen und Kritikern weltweit. Mit öffentlichen Veranstaltungen belebt Pro Helvetia den Diskurs zum Thema Publizieren.

Die Collection Cahiers d’Artistes wurde 1984 von der Schweizer Kulturstiftung ins Leben gerufen und gibt einen umfangreichen Einblick in das Schweizer Kunstschaffen der letzten 35 Jahre.

 

Archiv

Über das Archiv sind sämtliche Cahiers d’Artistes digital zugänglich. Hier finden sich Publikationen von Kunstschaffenden wie Fischli/Weiss (1985), Pipilotti Rist (1994), Valentin Carron (2004) oder Claudia Comte (2014), mit Texten von Kritikerinnen und Kritikern wie Jean-Christophe Ammann (1986), Rein Wolfs (1999), Dorothea Strauss (2004) oder Chris Kraus (2019). Bisher erschienen rund 160 Publikationen. Zudem findet sich auf der Website eine Liste mit allen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern, die ein Cahiers d’Artistes publiziert, sowie allen Autorinnen und Autoren, die einen Text verfasst haben.

Nachdem die Cahiers d’Artistes zu Beginn im Selbstverlag herausgegeben wurden, zeichnete sich Ende der 1990er-Jahre Lars Müller Publishers verantwortlich und seit 2006 publiziert der Verlag Edizioni Periferia, Luzern/Poschiavo die Bücher. Mit der Gestaltung ist seit 2015 das Grafikdesignstudio Bonbon mit Sitz in Zürich beauftragt.

Bestellungen

Die Serien VI-XV (ab 2006 bis heute) können bei Edizioni Periferia bestellt werden. Frühere Serien sind grösstenteils vergriffen, für weitere Informationen kontaktieren Sie bitte Josiane Imhasly.

 

Im Juni 2021 erscheinen acht Cahiers d’Artistes von folgenden Künstlerinnen und Künstlern:

Dorota Gawęda *1986 Lublin PL und Eglė Kulbokaitė *1987 Kaunas LT, leben und arbeiten in Basel

Dorota Gawęda und Eglė Kulbokaitė sind begierige Leserinnen. Dies zeigt sich zunächst in ihrem Langzeitprojekt YOUNG GIRL READING GROUP, welches 2013 am Anfang ihrer Zusammenarbeit als Duo stand. Wie der Autor Jeppe Ugelvig schreibt ist ihre Kunst eine Sendestation, mit der Geschichten eine Verbreitung finden. Die Künstlerinnen bedienen sich dafür an verschiedensten Quellen, wobei sie sich zunehmend vom westlichen akademischen Diskurs ab- und volkstümlichen Texten zuwenden (z.B. folkloristische Mythen, Geschichten magischer Praktiken oder Gerichtsakten aus Hexenprozessen). Thematisch verhandeln die Künstlerinnen unsere Beziehung zur Natur und Technologie ebenso wie Genderfragen. Mit ihren multimedialen Werken, die neben Performance und Video auch Düfte, Installationen, Skulpturen und Fotografien umfassen, schaffen sie Angebote für alternative Wahrnehmungs- und Darstellungsformen.

 

Dorota Gawęda und Eglė Kulbokaitė, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Dorota Gawęda und Eglė Kulbokaitė / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

gawedakulbokaite.com

 

Roman Gysin *1984 Möhlin, lebt und arbeitet in Zürich

Roman Gysin liess sich für sein Cahier d’Artistes von der Gestaltung von Mode- und Innenarchitekturmagazinen inspirieren, was angesichts seiner Sympathie für Dekoration und die an Übertreibung und Alltagskultur orientierte Ästhetik des Camps einleuchtet. Spielerisch verwebt Gysin Bilder aus dem Atelier mit Werkansichten und selbst geschossenen sowie gesammelten Fotografien. Die Motive und Ornamente der Fotografien treten dabei in einen spannenden Dialog mit den Werken, die Gysin mit grossem handwerklichem Geschick selbst im Atelier herstellt. Sylvain Menétrey begibt sich in seinem Text auf die Suche nach der Beziehung von Gysins Werk zum (Post-)Minimalismus und zu queerer Ästhetik und beleuchtet, wie der Künstler die Grenzen zwischen Hoch- und Populärkultur mühelos aufweicht.

 


Roman Gysin, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Roman Gysin / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

romangysin.com

 

Andreas Hochuli *1982 Zürich, lebt und arbeitet in Genf

Andreas Hochuli präsentiert in seinem Cahier d’Artistes ein Werkverzeichnis seiner bisher realisierten Malereien. Eine digitale Hängung von 131 Bildern wird ähnlich einer Kamerafahrt abgetastet, was seiner Arbeitsweise zwischen digitaler Konzeption und physischer Umsetzung entspricht. Bilder von Körpern stehen neben abstrakten Formen und Wortbildern (z.B. Wohnen, bauen, denken). Hochuli interessiert sich für die Menschen, ihre Beziehungen und Identitäten; für die Gesellschaft, ihren aktuellen Zustand und ihre zukünftige Entwicklung. Man findet in seinen Werken Bezüge zur Soziologie, Musik und Kunstgeschichte. Sie befragen Zeichen und ihre kulturellen Prägungen, stets mit einer Prise Humor und oft auch etwas Melancholie. Immer wieder sind Texte des Künstlers eingefügt, die gemeinsam mit seinen Malereien in ein assoziatives Zwiegespräch mit Ingo Niermanns poetischem Text treten.

 


Andreas Hochuli, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Andreas Hochuli / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

andreashochuli.com

 

Sandra Knecht *1968, lebt und arbeitet in Buus

Sandra Knecht ist bekannt für ihre Essen Immer wieder sonntags im Chnächt, eine Scheune, die sie aus dem Jura ans Basler Rheinufer transportiert hat. Ihre künstlerische Praxis mit dem Kochen steht im Zentrum des Cahier d’Artistes und des Texts von Koyo Kouoh. Diese Praxis umfasst das Einmachen von Heimat ebenso wie die Identitätssuche über den Geruch und den Geschmack, Gastlichkeit und die Erkundung des transformativen Potenzials von Essenszubereitung und gemeinsamem Essen. Darüber hinaus wird sichtbar, dass Knecht auch mit Fotografie und Video, Skulptur und Installation arbeitet, um ihre Anliegen – Verantwortung, Gleichberechtigung, Transformation – zu bearbeiten.

 


Sandra Knecht, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Sandra Knecht / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

sandraknecht.ch

 

Marie Matusz *1994 Toulouse, lebt und arbeitet in Basel und Zürich

In ihrem Cahier d’Artistes zeigt Marie Matusz zum einen schwarz-weiss Fotografien des Hauses ihrer Urgrossmutter, ein reich dekoriertes und mit unzähligen Reproduktionen von Klassikern der Malerei bestücktes Heim. Die Jahreszahl auf den Fotografien impliziert, dass sie 1994 aufgenommen wurden. Eine technische Fehlleistung, welche die Künstlerin faszinierte. Denn sie interessiert sich nicht nur für Soziologie und Linguistik, sondern auch für Philosophie und Fragen der Auflösung von Zeit und Raum. Zum anderen sind im Cahier d’Artistes verschiedene Werkgruppen abgebildet, die historische und zeitgenössische Machtstrukturen, Natur und Gerechtigkeit thematisieren. Alan Longino beschreibt die Stimmung in Matusz’ Werk mit dem von Thomas Gray entlehnten Begriff der Leucocholy: «a good easy sort of state», eine «weisse Melancholie», worin sich Matusz gut wiedererkennen kann.

 


Marie Matusz, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Marie Matusz / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

Noha Mokhtar *1987 Genf, lebt und arbeitet in Zürich und New York City

Inspiriert von ethnografischen Forschungsmethoden, umfasst Noha Mokhtars künstlerische Praxis Fotografie, Installation und Objekte. Sie untersucht, wie sich Räume und Gegenstände zu sozialen und politischen Themen und verschiedenen Formen von Macht verhalten. Dabei werden Begriffe wie Geschichte, Kultur und Häuslichkeit befragt. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt darauf, wie der Raum und die Materialität der Umgebung die Entfaltung von sozialen Beziehungen beeinflussen. Im Cahier d’Artistes verwebt Mokhtar eigene Fotoarbeiten mit gefundenen Fotografien sowie mit Objekten und kurzen Texten. Sarah Rifky liefert in ihrem Essay anhand der folgenden Begriffe Methoden zur Analyse von Mokhtars Werk: Falte, Rotation, Traum, Muster, Glitzern, Abguss, Bruch, Repetition, Abstieg, Traum, Falte.

 


Noha Mokhtar, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Noha Mokhtar / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

nohamokhtar.ch

 

Elena Montesinos *1971, lebt und arbeitet in Genf

Elena Montesinos ist eine kulturelle Unruhestifterin im besten Sinne. Sie sprudelt vor Ideen für künstlerische und kuratorische Projekte. Diese werden jedoch nicht immer realisiert: aufgrund exorbitanter Produktionskosten, weil sie abgelehnt wurden, weil sie verstörend sind oder schlicht illegal. In ihrem Cahier d’Artistes mit dem Titel UNRELEASED bringt The Montesinos Foundation zwanzig unveröffentlichte Projekte zu einer literarischen Durchführung. Das Cahier d’Artistes ermöglicht eine Reise in Montesinos’ Fantasie, wo sich ihr aktivistisches und transformatives Potenzial ungehemmt entfalten kann. Weil Kollaboration und Vielstimmigkeit für die Künstlerin zentral sind, hat sie fünf Wegbegleiterinnen und Wegbegleiter (Samuel Gross, Eve-Marie Knoerle, Irène Languin, Luca Pattaroni und Claude-Hubert Tatot) eingeladen, einen kurzen Text zu verschiedenen Aspekten ihrer Arbeit zu verfassen (z.B. Ökologie oder Humor).

 


Elena Montesinos / The Montesinos Foundation, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Elena Montesinos / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

themontesinosfoundation.org

 

Ramaya Tegegne *1985 Genf, lebt und arbeitet in Genf

Ramaya Tegegne beleuchtet die Mechanismen von Dominanz und Machtverhältnissen innerhalb der Kultur, indem sie ihre Ökonomie, Zirkulation und Historisierung beobachtet. Sie realisiert Performances und Installationen und setzt sich mit der Kampagne Wages For Wages Against für eine alternative und faire Ökonomie im Feld der Kunst ein, die Kunstschaffenden bessere Arbeitsbedingungen und eine angemessene Entlöhnung bietet. Tegegnes Cahier d’Artistes schafft einen Überblick über ihre künstlerischen und aktivistischen Projekte und thematisiert die ökonomischen Verhältnisse, in welchen diese realisiert werden. Chaédria LaBouviers Text beleuchtet ihr Werk im Kontext von Aktivismus, Rasse und Geschlecht sowie gegenseitiger Fürsorge («We Are Each Other’s Business, We Are Each Other’s Harvest»).

 


Ramaya Tegegne, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Ramaya Tegegne / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

ramaya.ch

 

Bestellungen

Bestellungen können bei Edizioni Periferia getätigt werden.

periferia.ch

Jury

  • Fanni Fetzer, Direktorin Kunstmuseum Luzern
  • Luca Frei, Künstler, Lugano/Malmö
  • Samuel Leuenberger, Kurator SALTS und Art Parcours, Basel
  • Denis Pernet, Associate Curator Audemars Piguet Art Programme, Lausanne

Andere Dossiers