Our Offices & Partners Abroad

Three of our liaison offices celebrate anniversaries.
To the festivities

Past Initiatives

Moving Words

Initiative Moving Words

Final report (in German)

Download as PDF

Swiss Translation Programme 2009 – 2012

Literary translations play a substantial role in the cultural exchange between different linguistic regions in Switzerland, and they are a precondition for spreading Swiss literature in countries where the original languages are not spoken. Such were the reasons for Pro Helvetia to launch its «Moving Words» programme in 2009 and thereby commit CHF 2.4 million to the promotion of literary translation. The aim of the support programme was to increase the number of Swiss books in translation both in Switzerland and abroad, to make a sustainable contribution to the professional qualification of Swiss translators, and to raise public awareness and appreciation of the art of literary translation.

In its four years of existence, «Moving Words» made a considerable impact:

  • 9 Swiss literature book series have been launched by renowned publishing houses worldwide (e.g. in the USA, China, Turkey and India).
  • 14 two-year support agreements with Swiss publishers have intensified literary exchange between the country’s linguistic regions.
  • Over 60 symposia and workshops took place at which literary translators were able to network and deepen their professional knowledge.
  • More than 70 international translators were given the opportunity of a residence at Translation House Looren in order to work on Swiss literature projects.
  • New instruments for the support and promotion of translation were developed.
  • Pro Helvetia raised the rate for literary translation by 25% (from CHF 40 to CHF 50 per standard page of 1,800 keystrokes).
  • «12 Swiss Books», an annual promotional magazine, was launched by Pro Helvetia.

All these activities and promotional measures were realised and financed by Pro Helvetia in collaboration with a number of institutional partners at home and abroad, such as the Swiss Authors’ Association ( AdS), which also functions as association for translators, the Centre de Traduction Littéraire at the University of Lausanne (CTL), Translation House Looren, the three Swiss publishers’ associations SBVV, ASDEL and SESI, the Swiss National Library, the S. Fischer Foundation and Literarisches Übersetzerkolloquium Berlin.

Outlook on translation promotion in future

Tried and tested promotional instruments developed as part of «Moving Words» are to be continued: the increased rate of payment for Swiss translators, residencies at Translation House Looren, project grants for Swiss literary translators, the Young Translators Partnership mentoring scheme, events on and with translations, and Swiss book series issued by international publishers. Besides the translation of fiction, plays and works of non-fiction on Swiss topics, the Swiss Arts Council will also specifically promote the translation of children’s and youth literature.

 

 

Other Initiatives

Unsere Büros und Partner weltweit

Drei unserer Verbindungsbüros feiern runde Jubiläen.
Zu den Feierlichkeiten

Vergangene Initiativen

Moving Words

Initiative Moving Words

Schlussbericht

als PDF herunterladen

Schweizer Übersetzungsförderung 2009 – 2012

Literarische Übersetzungen unterstützen den Austausch über die Schweizer Sprachgrenzen hinweg substantiell, und sie sind Voraussetzung für die Verbreitung von Schweizer Literatur im anderssprachigen Ausland. Vor diesem Hintergrund lancierte Pro Helvetia 2009 den Übersetzungsschwerpunkt «Moving Words» und sprach dafür 2,4 Millionen Franken. Mit ihrem Förderprogramm setzte sich die Stiftung zum Ziel, die Anzahl übersetzter Schweizer Bücher im Inland und weltweit zu steigern, zur Qualifizierung der Schweizer Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer nachhaltig beizutragen, sowie die öffentliche Wahrnehmung und Wertschätzung des literarischen Übersetzens zu verbessern.

In den vier Jahren seiner Dauer zeigte «Moving Words» Wirkung:

  • 9 Schweizer Reihen sind in renommierten Verlagen weltweit (u.a. USA, China, Türkei, Indien) entstanden.
  • 14 zweijährige Leistungsvereinbarungen mit Schweizer Verlagen haben den Austausch zwischen den Sprachregionen intensiviert.
  • Literarische Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer konnten sich im Rahmen von über 60 Symposien und Workshops vernetzen und fachlich weiterbilden.
  • Mehr als 70 internationale Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer konnten im Rahmen von Residenzen im Übersetzerhaus Looren an Projekten zur Schweizer Literatur arbeiten.
  • Meue Förder- und Promotionsinstrumente wurden entwickelt.
  • Pro Helvetia hat den Tarif für literarische Übersetzungen um 25% (von 40 auf 50 CHF pro Standardseite à 1800 Zeichen) erhöht.
  • Die Stiftung hat das einmal jährlich erscheinende Promotionsmagazin «12 Swiss Books» lanciert.

All diese Aktivitäten und Fördermassnahmen realisierte und finanzierte Pro Helvetia in Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen institutionellen Partnern im In- und Ausland wie dem Verband Autorinnen und Autoren der Schweiz AdS (der auch der Verband der ÜbersetzerInnen ist), dem Centre de Traduction Littéraire der Universität Lausanne (CTL), dem Übersetzerhaus Looren, den drei Schweizer Verlegerverbänden SBVV, ASDEL und SESI, der Schweizerischen Nationalbibliothek, der S. Fischer Stiftung sowie dem Literarischen Übersetzerkolloquium Berlin usw.

Ausblick auf die Förderpraxis:

Bewährte Förderinstrumente, die im Rahmen von «Moving Words» entstanden sind, wird Pro Helvetia fortführen: Der erhöhte Tarif für Schweizer Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer, Residenzen im Übersetzerhaus Looren, Projektbeiträge für literarische Schweizer Übersetzer, das Mentoringprojekt Young-Translators-Partnership, Veranstaltungen zu und mit Übersetzungen, Schweizer Buchreihen in internationalen Verlagen. Neben Übersetzungen von Belletristik, Theatertexten und Sachbüchern zu Schweizer Themen wird die Stiftung künftig auch die Übersetzung von Kinder- und Jugendliteratur fördern.

Andere Initiativen