Our Offices Abroad

Pro Helvetia Johannesburg

Joseph Gaylard

Head Pro Helvetia Johannesburg

johannesburg@prohelvetia.org.za


We have been committed to cultural exchange between Switzerland and Southern Africa through our liaison office in Johannesburg since 1998.

Areas of operation

South Africa, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambia, Namibia, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Tanzania, Lesotho, Swaziland, Malawi, Angola and Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Activities

To raise awareness of Swiss culture around the world, we forge ties with local event organisers, develop and nurture long-term partnerships, initiate co-productions with artists from the regions concerned and organise residencies.

The liaison office in Johannesburg also carries out a mandate by the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC). It supports the development of the local arts scene, fosters transnational cooperation and enhances the mobility of artists in the region.

Key focus

The programme is interdisciplinary in nature. Special emphasis is placed on the disciplines of visual and performing arts, music, design, new technologies and cultural outreach.

We focus on collaboration projects between cultural practitioners from Switzerland and Southern Africa, exhibitions of work by Swiss artists and residencies. The liaison office in Johannesburg is generally interested in projects at the interface of arts, social issues and politics.

Unsere Aussenstellen

Pro Helvetia Johannesburg

Joseph Gaylard

Leiter Pro Helvetia Johannesburg

johannesburg@prohelvetia.org.za

Wir engagieren uns seit 1998 für den kulturellen Austausch zwischen der Schweiz und dem südlichen Afrika durch unser Verbindungsbüro in Johannesburg.

Arbeitsregion

Südafrika, Simbabwe, Botsuana, Sambia, Namibia, Madagaskar, Mauritius, Mozambik, Tansania, Lesotho, Swasiland, Malawi, Angola und Demokratische Republik Kongo.

Tätigkeiten

Um Schweizer Kultur weltweit bekannter zu machen, knüpfen wir Kontakte mit lokalen Veranstaltern, entwickeln langfristige Partnerschaften, initiieren Koproduktionen mit Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus der Gastregion und bieten Residenzen an.

Das Verbindungsbüro in Johannesburg setzt zusätzlich ein Mandat der Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit DEZA um. Es unterstützt die Entwicklung der lokalen Kulturszene, die transnationale Zusammenarbeit, sowie die Mobilität von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern in dieser Region.

Schwerpunkte

Das Programm ist interdisziplinär. Eine erhöhte Aufmerksamkeit gilt für die Bereiche:
Visuelle und darstellende Künste, Musik, Design, neuen Technologien und Kulturvermittlung.

Wir fokussieren auf Kollaborationen zwischen Kulturschaffenden aus der Schweiz und der Region, Tourneen, Ausstellungen von Schweizer Werken, Residenzen. Das Verbindungsbüro in Johannesburg interessiert generell Vorhaben an den Schnittstellen zwischen Kunst, Gesellschaft und Politik.