Our Offices & Partners Abroad

Three of our liaison offices celebrate anniversaries.
To the festivities

Timeline

Culture from lat. cultura = Tillage, care, cultivation.
Culture from lat. cultura = Tillage, care, cultivation.

Late 1800s

Switzerland’s First Federal Cultural Institutions
In 1888, the Federal Art Commission is established.
1890 sees the founding of the Swiss National Museum (in Zurich) and the Swiss National Library (in Bern).

1933

Spiritual National Defence
Politicians, intellectuals and journalists across party lines band together to demand a policy of “spiritual national defence” to help protect Switzerland from the Fascist threat posed by neighbouring countries.

1935

A Parliamentary Motion
19 June: Fritz Hauser, a member of Parliament from Basel, proposes a motion urging the Federal Council take steps to protect Swiss identity following the rise to power of Hitler and Mussolini. A week later, the Swiss writers’ association makes the same demand.

1938

A Federal Foundation for Culture
12 November: The Neue Helvetische Gesellschaft (New Helvetic Society) joins in the discussion and presents a plan for a “Helvetic Foundation.”
09 December: The Federal Council publishes a Dispatch on cultural policy “concerning the duty and the means of preserving and promoting Swiss culture.” It includes the idea of a federally-funded foundation for culture.

1939

Pro Helvetia
5 April: The proposal for a cultural foundation is approved by federal decree, just a few months before the outbreak of the Second World War.
20 October: Originally planned as a private foundation, Pro Helvetia is transformed into a cooperative council regulated by public law.
Its first president is former Federal Councillor Heinrich Häberlin. Its director for the next nineteen years is Karl Naef; as secretary of the writers’ association, he had helped launch the debate about federal cultural policy. The council’s goal is to preserve “the spiritual independence of culture” in Switzerland in the face of the dangers represented by Nazi Germany and its Fascist propaganda.

1940

Hirschengraben 22PH Zürich
In April, Pro Helvetia moves into its new quarters at Hirschengraben 22, in Zurich. From the very beginning, the cooperative council is subsidiary to the cantons and municipalities, and operates on the basis of applications received. In the early years, its budget (500,000 Swiss francs) is divided between two groups: one half is allocated to the “People” division, the other to the “Army” (also known as “Army and Home”) division.

1945

New Duties
21 March: Pro Helvetia is assigned new duties, with an emphasis on promoting exchange and dialogue, as well as a focus on activities outside of Switzerland. The goal: breaking out of the spiritual and cultural “fortress mentality” of the war years.

1949

An Autonomous Foundation
28 September: A federal decree transforms the cooperative council into an autonomous foundation regulated by public law. The “Army” division is dissolved.

1952

Funding for Research
The Swiss National Science Foundation is established.

1964

First Yearbook
Pro Helvetia publishes its first yearbook, summarizing its activities of the past several years. From then on, the publication appears yearly and serves as a source of information for members of parliament as well as the general public.

1965

The Pro Helvetia Law
17 December: The federal government passes a law dedicated to Pro Helvetia; it establishes a legal basis for the Arts Council’s organization and activities. Pro Helvetia’s responsibilities include:

  • preserving and protecting Switzerland’s unique cultural heritage
  • supporting artistic creation
  • promoting cultural exchange between linguistic regions and cultural spheres within Switzerland
  • maintaining cultural relations abroad
PH Expo 1964
PH Expo 1964

1969

The Clottu Commission
The Federal Department of Home Affairs establishes a commission to be chaired by Gaston Clottu and charged with evaluating the state of cultural
affairs and activities in Switzerland.

1971

Around the World
With the exhibition La Suisse présente la Suisse (“Switzerland presents Switzerland”) in Dakar, Senegal, Pro Helvetia supports a large-scale project on the African continent for the first time. After having focused its support on projects in the USA and Europe, in the following years Pro Helvetia broadens its scope to include projects around the world.

1975

The Clottu Report
The Clottu Commission publishes its five-hundred-page final report on the state of cultural activities in Switzerland. It recommends adding an article on culture to the Swiss Constitution, and dividing cultural affairs among several administrative bodies, which leads to the establishment of the Federal Office of Culture in 1978. In addition, the report recommends intensifying cultural exchange within Switzerland and abroad. Suggestions include a focus on the periphery and the creation of a proactive foreign service for Pro Helvetia.

For the first time in the history of its activities abroad, Pro Helvetia organizes an event series lasting several months: entitled “Espace,” it takes place in the premises of the Swiss Tourist Office in Paris and includes exhibitions, theatre performances, film evenings and concerts. It is also the first time that Pro Helvetia mounts a large-scale project without the participation of diplomatic representatives.

CCS Paris, 10th year anniversary, 19951985

In Paris
The Centre Culturel Suisse opens in Paris. Its creation, and the attendant purchase of space in the venerable Hôtel Poussepin in the Marais district, were preceded by a long tug of war between the Pro Helvetia Board of Trustees and the Federal Council, or rather the Federal Department of Home Affairs. A petition and donation drive spearheaded by the francophone weekly “L’Hebdo” helps make the purchase a reality.

 

Passages
The same year sees the launch of “Passages,” Pro Helvetia’s cultural magazine. Conceived for international circulation at first, it appears in French and German and, as of the fourth issue, in an English edition as well.

PH Passagen

1986

In New YorkPH New York
The Swiss Institute opens in New York.
In a national referendum, Swiss voters reject both the proposal for a “Cultural Initiative” (which would allocate one percent of the annual federal budget to cultural funding), and the Federal Council’s counter-proposal.

1988

In Cairo
Pro Helvetia’s first liaison office opens in Cairo, Egypt.
A new funding stipulation regulates Pro Helvetia’s principal activities: supporting projects through grant applications, and developing its own cultural initiatives, to be called “Programmes.” Examples include Gallerie 57 / 34.6 km (2001 – 2007), which supports cultural activities along the NEAT Alpine tunnel construction route, and echoes – folk culture for tomorrow (2006 – 2008), which encourages crossover between innovative and traditional forms of folk culture.

PH Kairo Da Motus

1989

A Federal Merger
The Federal Office of Cultural Affairs merges with the Swiss National Museum and the National Library to form a new Federal Office of Culture, charged with coordinating all cultural activities, including those previously carried out by the Federal Department of Home Affairs.

1991

In Eastern Europe
After the fall of the Iron Curtain, Pro Helvetia takes over the bureaus opened by the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation in Poland, Czechoslovakia and Hungary, in order to use them as Antenna offices.

1992

In Geneva
The Antenne Romande for French-speaking Switzerland opens in Geneva.

1997PH Milano

In Milan
The Centro Culturale Svizzero opens in Milan, Italy.

1998

In Cape Town
A new liaison office opens in Cape Town, South Africa.

1999

International Communication
Presence Switzerland is created. It is responsible for maintaining Switzerland’s image abroad, and for implementing the Federal Council’s strategy on Switzerland’s communication abroad.

2002

A Rise in Funding
1 January 2002: Pro Helvetia introduces some fundamental reforms. The most important change: the maximum amount that the secretariat may independently grant a funding application is raised from 5,000 to 20,000 Swiss francs.

2004

The Hirschhorn Affair
The controversy surrounding Thomas Hirschhorn’s exhibition “Swiss-Swiss Democracy” at the Centre Culturel Suisse in Paris results in a one-time cut of one million Swiss francs to Pro Helvetia’s budget. However,the subsequent investigation by parliamentary administrative controls results in a positive evaluation of the Arts Council.
As part of its newly-defined international strategy, Pro Helvetia adopts the principle of cultural regions: Russia / Siberia; China; India and Southeast Asia; Oceania; Africa; the Middle East. Long-term plans are made to establish branch offices in each of these regions, with the exception of Oceania.

2005

In Rome
The Istituto Svizzero in Rome receives the status of a Pro Helvetia partner institute.
After ten years of developing networks in Eastern Europe, the office in Cracow moves to Warsaw; the offices in Bratislava, Prague and Budapest are closed.

2007

In New Delhi
A liaison office opens in New Delhi, India.
The Antenne Romande in Geneva closes.

PH New Delhi

2009

The First Law on Culture
11 December: The federal Parliament adopts the first Swiss law on the promotion of culture. From now on, a Federal Dispatch regulating cultural policy and spending on culture is to be submitted to Parliament every four years. Pro Helvetia is also subject to this new law. Pro Helvetia also undergoes some fundamental reforms, including the allocation of additional responsibilities.
The online application portal “myprohelvetia” is launched this same year.

2010

In Shanghai
The newest liaison office opens in Shanghai, China.

PH China

2012

First Dispatch on Culture
1 January: The new federal law on the promotion of culture and the first Dispatch on culture come into effect. Among its new activities, Pro Helvetia assumes responsibility for the support of up-and-coming artists, art education, art biennials and the Swiss presence at international book fairs – areas previously under the auspices of the Federal Office of Culture. In return, film promotion and support for publishing are transferred to the FOC.
February: The liaison office in South Africa moves from Cape Town to Johannesburg.

2013

Withdrawal from Warsaw
The office in Warsaw closes. From now on, joint cultural activities between this region and Switzerland are to be handled through the Zurich office, asis the case for all EU member states.

2014

Current Statistics
During this year, some 4,880 events take place worldwide with support from Pro Helvetia.

2015

Second Dispatch on Culture
Parliament approves the second Dispatch on culture for the period 2016 – 2020. During the five years to come, Pro Helvetia plans to support Swiss art and artists, encourage cohesion within the country, and expand the presence of Swiss arts and culture on an international scale. In addition, an initiative entitled “Culture and Economy” aims to coordinate support for design and interactive digital media.

Unsere Aussenstellen

Timeline

Kultur von lat. cultura = Bearbeitung, Pflege, Ackerbau. Aebi Pferdemäher, Modell «Helvetia»
Kultur von lat. cultura = Bearbeitung, Pflege, Ackerbau. Aebi Pferdemäher, Modell «Helvetia»

Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts

Erste Kulturinstitutionen des Bundes
1888 wird die eidgenössische Kunstkommission gegründet. 1890 entsteht das Schweizerische Landesmuseum und 1894 die Schweizerische Landesbibliothek (heute Nationalbibliothek).

1933

Geistige Landesverteidigung
Über alle Parteigrenzen hinweg verlangen Parlamentarier, Intellektuelle und Medienschaffende angesichts der faschistischen Bedrohung durch die Nachbarländer, die «Geistige Landesverteidigung» der Schweiz zu stärken.

1935

Postulat an den Bundesrat
19. Juni: Der Basler Nationalrat Fritz Hauser fordert in einem Postulat den Bundesrat auf zu prüfen, wie die schweizerische Identität nach der Machtübernahme Hitlers und Mussolinis zu schützen sei. Der Schweizerische Schriftstellerverein (SSV) doppelt eine Woche später nach.

1938

Botschaft zur Kulturpolitik
12. November: Die Neue Helvetische Gesellschaft (NHG) präsentiert den Entwurf für eine «Helvetische Stiftung».
09. Dezember: Der Bundesrat veröffentlicht eine Botschaft zur Kulturpolitik «über die Organisation und die Aufgabe der schweizerischen Kulturwahrung und Kulturwerbung». Darin schlägt er eine vom Bund subventionierte Kulturstiftung vor.

1939

Gründung Pro Helvetia
05. April: Die Vorlage für eine Kulturstiftung wird wenige Monate vor Kriegsausbruch per Bundesbeschluss angenommen.
20. Oktober: Als privatrechtliche Stiftung geplant, wird Pro Helvetia angesichts des drohenden Kriegsausbruchs vorerst als Arbeitsgemeinschaft geführt. Erster Präsident ist alt Bundesrat Heinrich Häberlin, die Führung der Geschäftsstelle übernimmt für die nächsten 19 Jahre derselbe Karl Naef, der als Sekretär des Schriftstellerverbandes die Diskussionen um eine eidgenössische Kulturpolitik massgeblich geprägt hat. Ihr Ziel ist die Bewahrung der geistigen Unabhängigkeit der Kultur in der Schweiz angesichts der Bedrohung durch das nationalsozialistische Deutschland und dessen faschistischer Propaganda.

1940

PH Hirschengraben

Hirschengraben 22
Im April erfolgt der Einzug von Pro Helvetia in die Räumlichkeiten am Hirschengraben 22 in Zürich. Die Arbeitsgemeinschaft arbeitet von allem Anfang an subsidiär zu Kantonen und Gemeinden und auf der Basis von Gesuchen. In den ersten Jahren werden die gesprochenen Mittel (500‘000 Fr.) aufgeteilt: Die eine Hälfte geht an die Gruppe «Volk», die andere an die Gruppe «Armee» (besser bekannt unter dem Namen «Heer und Haus»).

1945

Neue Aufgaben
21. März: Pro Helvetia werden neue Aufgaben zugewiesen, die auf Austausch und Dialog setzen und die Auslandarbeit in den Fokus rücken. Ziel ist nach den Kriegsjahren nun ein «Ausbruch aus der geistigen und kulturellen Réduit-Stellung».

1949

Autonome Stiftung
28. September: Aus der Arbeitsgemeinschaft wird per Bundesbeschluss eine autonome Stiftung öffentlichen Rechts. Die Abteilung «Armee» wird aufgelöst.

1952

Gründung Nationalfonds
Der Schweizerische Nationalfonds wird gegründet aus der Besorgnis, dass die Schweizer Forschung nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg ins Mittelmass absinken könnte.

1964

Erstes Jahrbuch
Die Stiftung veröffentlicht das erste Jahrbuch, das das Wirken von Pro Helvetia anfangs von mehreren Jahren, später von einem Jahr zusammenfasst und als Informationsquelle für Parlamentarier und die Öffentlichkeit dient.

1965

Pro Helvetia-Gesetz
17. Dezember: Der Bund erlässt ein eigenes Gesetz, das erstmals die Organisation und die Aufgaben von Pro Helvetia auf Gesetzesstufe umschreibt. Im Pflichtenheft:

  • die kulturelle Eigenart der Schweiz erhalten und wahren
  • das kulturelle Schaffen fördern
  • den Kulturaustausch zwischen den Sprachgebieten und den Kulturkreisen in der Schweiz fördern
  • die kulturellen Beziehungen mit dem Ausland pflegen.
PH Expo 1964
PH Expo 1964

1969

Clottu-Kommission
Das Eidgenössische Departement des Innern (EDI) setzt unter dem Vorsitz von Gaston Clottu eine Kommission ein. Sie hat den Auftrag, die Situation des schweizerischen Kulturangebots zu prüfen.

1971

Rund um den Globus
Mit der Ausstellung «La Suisse présente la Suisse» in Dakar, (Senegal) unterstützt Pro Helvetia erstmals ein grosses Projekt auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent. War die Unterstützung der Stiftung bisher vorwiegend auf Projekte in den USA und Europa bezogen, so erweitert sie in den kommenden Jahren zunehmend ihren Radius und fördert vermehrt Projekte rund um den Globus – in Südamerika, Israel und Südostasien.

1975

Clottu-Bericht
Pro Helvetia führt unter dem Namen «Espace» zum ersten Mal in der Geschichte ihrer Auslandtätigkeiten eine mehrmonatige Veranstaltungsreihe durch. In den von der Schweizer Verkehrszentrale zur Verfügung gestellten Räumlichkeiten in Paris finden Ausstellungen, Theateraufführungen, Filmabende und Konzerte statt. Pro Helvetia organisiert damit erstmals ein Grossprojekt ohne Beteiligung der diplomatischen Vertretungen.

Die Clottu-Kommission publiziert ihren rund fünfhundertseitigen Schlussbericht zur Situation des schweizerischen Kulturangebots. Empfohlen werden eine Verankerung eines Kulturartikels in der Bundesverfassung und die Aufteilung kultureller Belange auf verschiedene Behörden, was 1978 zur Gründung des Bundesamtes für Kulturpflege (des heutigen Bundesamtes für Kultur, BAK) führt. Zudem sei der Kulturaustausch inner- und ausserhalb der Schweiz zu intensivieren. Vorgeschlagen werden ein Fokus auf die Peripherie und «die Schaffung eines initiativen Aussendienstes der Pro Helvetia».

CCS 10 Jahre Jubiläum, 1995
CCS 10 Jahre Jubiläum, 1995

1985

In Paris

Der Gründung des Centre Culturel Suisse in Paris und dem damit verbundenen Kauf von Räumlichkeiten im altehrwürdigen Hôtel Poussepin im Marais-Quartier geht ein langes Seilziehen zwischen Stiftungsrat und Bundesrat, beziehungsweise EDI, voraus. Eine Unterschriftensammlung mit gleichzeitigem Spenderaufruf des Westschweizer Magazins «L’Hébdo» verhilft der Anschaffung letztlich zum Durchbruch.

 

Lancierung von «Passagen»
Die Kulturzeitschrift wurde anfangs fürs Ausland konzipiert und erscheint in deutscher und französischer und von der vierten Nummer an auch in englischer Sprache.

PH Passagen

1986

PH New York

In New York
Eröffnung des Swiss Institute in New York, USA.

In einer Volksabstimmung werden sowohl die «Kulturinitiative» (1 Prozent der jährlich budgetierten Gesamtausgaben des Bundes für die Kulturförderung) wie auch der bundesrätliche Gegenvorschlag verworfen.

1988

In Kairo
Eröffnung der ersten Aussenstelle in Kairo, Ägypten.

PH Kairo Da Motus

Im ersten Beitragsreglement von Pro Helvetia werden die Unterstützung von Projekten auf Gesuch hin und von kulturellen Initiativen der Stiftung selbst – sogenannter Programme – als Haupttätigkeiten festgehalten. Beispiele für letztere sind «Gallerie 57/34.6 km» von 2001 – 2007, das Kultur entlang der NEAT-Tunnelbaustellen fördert oder das zweijährige Programm «echos − Volkskultur für morgen» von 2006 – 2008, das den Brückenschlag zwischen Innovation und Tradition in der Volkskultur schafft.

1989

Bundesamt für Kultur
Vereinigung des Bundesamtes für Kulturpflege mit dem Landesmuseum und der Landesbibliothek zum Bundesamt für Kultur. Es hat die Aufgabe, die vom Bund bisher über das EDI geführten kulturellen Aktivitäten zu koordinieren.

1991

In Osteuropa
Nach dem Fall des Eisernen Vorhangs übernimmt Pro Helvetia die von der Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit (DEZA) eröffneten Büros in Polen, der Tschechoslowakei und Ungarn und nutzt sie als Aussenstellen.

1992

In Genf
Eröffnung der Antenne Romande in Genf.

1997PH Milano

In Mailand
Eröffnung des Centro Culturale Svizzero in Mailand, Italien.

1998

In Kapstadt
Eröffnung der Aussenstelle in Kapstadt, Südafrika.

1999

Landeskommunikation
Gründung von Präsenz Schweiz, zuständig für die Wahrnehmung der Schweiz im Ausland und die Umsetzung der Strategie des Bundesrates für die Landeskommunikation der Schweiz.

2002

Beitragslimiten
1. Januar: Pro Helvetia leitet eine grundlegende Reform ein. Die wichtigste Neuerung ist die Erhöhung der finanziellen Beitragslimiten für das Sekretariat. Anstatt bisher bis 5000 Fr., kann die Geschäftsstelle nun Gesuche bis 20’000 Fr. in eigener Verantwortung beurteilen.

2004

Hirschhorn-Affäre
Die Hirschhorn-Affäre rund um die Ausstellung «Swiss-Swiss Democracy» von Thomas Hirschhorn im Centre Culturel Suisse in Paris hat für Pro Helvetia zwar eine einmalige Budgetkürzung von einer Million zur Folge, mündet jedoch in eine positive Evaluation der Stiftung durch die parlamentarische Verwaltungskontrolle.

In ihrer neu definierten Auslandstrategie verpflichtet sich Pro Helvetia dem Prinzip der Kulturräume: Russland/ Sibirien; China; Indien und Südostasien; Ozeanien; Afrika; arabischer/ nordafrikanischer Raum; Nordamerika; Lateinamerika. Mit Ausnahme von Ozeanien plant sie langfristig, in jedem der genannten Räume mit einer Aussenstelle vertreten zu sein.

2005

In Rom
Das Istituto Svizzero in Rom erhält den Status eines Partnerinstituts von Pro Helvetia.

Nach über zehnjähriger Aufbauarbeit in Osteuropa wird die Aussenstelle von Krakau nach Warschau gezügelt; Bratislava, Prag und Budapest werden geschlossen.

2007

In New Delhi
Eröffnung der Aussenstelle in New Delhi, Indien, und Schliessung der Genfer Antenne.

PH New Delhi

2009

Erstes Kulturförderungsgesetz
11. Dezember: Das Parlament verabschiedet das erste Kulturförderungsgesetz der Schweiz. Neu ist eine mehrjährige «Botschaft zur Finanzierung der Kulturförderung des Bundes» (Kulturbotschaft) vorgesehen, welche die Kulturpolitik des Bundes und die zur Verfügung gestellten finanziellen Mittel festlegt. Pro Helvetia ist Teil davon. Zugleich erfolgt eine grundlegende Reform der Stiftung, die mit zusätzlichen Aufgaben betraut wird.

Das elektronische Gesuchsportal «myprohelvetia» wird aufgeschaltet.

2010

In Shanghai
Eröffnung der jüngsten Aussenstelle in Shanghai, China.

PH China

2012

Erste Kulturbotschaft
1. Januar: Das Kulturförderungsgesetz und die erste Kulturbotschaft treten in Kraft. Als neue Aufgaben übernimmt Pro Helvetia vom Bundesamt für Kultur unter anderem die Nachwuchsförderung, die Kunstvermittlung, die Kunstbiennalen und die Schweizer Auftritte an internationalen Buchmessen. Dafür zieht sich die Stiftung beispielsweise aus der Unterstützung der Schweizer Filmpromotion und der Verlagsförderung zurück, die ans BAK übergehen.

Februar: Die Aussenstelle in Südafrika wird von Kapstadt nach Johannesburg verlegt.

2013

Abschied von Warschau
Schliessung der Aussenstelle in Warschau. Wie bei anderen Mitgliedern der Europäischen Union unterstützt die Geschäftsstelle von Pro Helvetia in Zürich Kulturprojekte zwischen der Schweiz und dieser Region direkt.

2014

Aktuelle Bilanz
Rund 4880 Veranstaltungen und Auftritte finden mithilfe von Pro Helvetia weltweit statt.

2015

Zweite Kulturbotschaft
Das Parlament genehmigt die zweite Kulturbotschaft. Pro Helvetia will für die Periode 2016 – 2020 unter anderem das Schweizerische Kunstschaffen, die Kohäsion im Inland und die internationale Präsenz von Schweizer Kultur im Ausland stärken. Unter dem Titel «Kultur und Wirtschaft» soll zudem eine koordinierte Förderung von Design und interaktiven digitalen Medien erfolgen.