Fast Forward: Support programme for mid-career musicians

Music
© Flora Mottini

With this new funding programme, we support for two years artists from Switzerland in the fields of pop, jazz and experimental music.

The selected musicians are at a decisive turning point in their careers, having already gained international experience and demonstrating strong potential for long-term international development. The two-year programme will enable the selected artists to pursue their work and elaborate a long-term development strategy with the help of a mentor.

Fast Forward aims to empower artistic personalities, deepen their strategic knowledge and expand their international networks. The programme provides substantial individual support to artists at a decisive point in their careers, enabling them to establish themselves long-term on the international scene.

Artistic mentoring and strategic development

The programme consists of artistic and curatorial mentoring, coverage of management costs, participation in two workshops (called Business Labs) organised by Pro Helvetia and devoted to strategic development and networking. Artists may also make flexible use of part of the funding, for example, to produce digital and visual content.

Recognised experts will be be invited to the workshops. Grantees may also request individual mentoring for the duration of the programme.


Pilot edition 2023 – 2025

As part of the pilot edition, five artists whose profile meets the programme requirements receive a support tailored to their individual needs.

Andrina Bollinger

Andrina Bollinger © Sabina Bösch

It is rare to find an artist whose voice is so compelling and convincing as that of singer, songwriter and performer Andrina Bollinger. Whether as a solo performer, with her group, or as a composer for film and theatre productions, Andrina Bollinger’s career has made her one of the most important figures in the Swiss music scene.

In recent years, she has concentrated entirely on her solo project, which she describes as avant-garde pop with jazz influences. Andrina Bollinger released her debut album ’Secret Seed’ (2022) and an EP titled ’Pleasure & Pain’ (2023) through Mouthwatering Records. 

Either as a soloist or with her group, she has performed at renowned international venues and festivals such as Montreux Jazz Festival (CH), Café de la Danse in Paris (FR), m4music Festival (CH), Winterthurer Musikfestwochen (CH), Istituto Svizzero in Rome (IT), Cully Jazz Festival (CH) and Dampfzentrale in Bern (CH). Andrina Bollinger lives and works in Zurich.

andrinabollinger.com

Mentor: TBA

Emilie Zoé

Emilie Zoé © David Wagnières

Predominantly self-taught, Emilie Zoé has been writing, composing and performing songs for over 15 years. The artist’s four solo albums have been released through the independent Chaux-de-Fonds label Humus Records, along with several collaborative projects, including ’/A\’ with Franz Treichler (The Young Gods, 2021) and ’Autisti’ with Louis Jucker (2017).

Emilie Zoé’s voice and magnetic presence have earned the artist much acclaim. Awards and prizes include ’Best Act Romandie’ (2019 Swiss Music Awards), ’Prix Suisse de Musique’ (2020), and ’Best Live Act’ (2022 Swiss Live Talents). Released in two instalments in 2022, the latest album, ’Hello Future Me’, was named ’Album of the year 2022’ by IndieSuisse.

The ’Hello Future Tour’ enables Emilie Zoé to perform on prestigious stages, including Nuits de Fourvière in Lyon (FR), with Kae Tempest at the Haldern Pop Festival and the Maifeld Derby Festival (DE), supporting Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds at the Auditorium Stravinski at Montreux Jazz Festival (CH), as well as supporting Muse in Bern (CH).

emiliezoe.com

Mentor: TBA

NNAVY

NNAVY © Emilien Itim

NNAVY is a singer-songwriter who has captured the hearts of audiences with her moving, soulful voice. Her debut EP ’Blue’ and its follow-up ’In Good Company’ showcase her unique and personal style, which blends R&B, soul and jazz influences.

She has performed at renowned festivals such as Montreux Jazz Festival, Jazz à Vienne and MaMa Music & Convention in Paris. She has opened for established artists such as Lionel Richie, Arlo Parks, Alfa Mist, November Ultra and Ben l’Oncle Soul. Her powerful, emotional stage presence has captivated audiences, leaving them spellbound.

Streamed over 15 million times on Spotify, NNAVY’s music has found a devoted following across the world. Her most recent EP, ’No Promises’, marks a new chapter on her musical journey, one that involves navigating fragility and empowerment. NNAVY’s powerful voice continues to establish her as one of the most exciting and promising artists in the Soul/R&B scene.

nnavymusic.com

Mentor: TBA

Noémi Büchi

Noémi Büchi © Brigitte Faessler

Noémi Büchi is a Franco-Swiss composer and sound artist who creates electronic and symphonic maximalism. Her music is defined by a delicate synthesis of textural rhythms and electroacoustic and orchestral abstraction. She explores the potential of consonance and dissonance, contrasts rhythmic physicality with disruption and emphasises irregularities, creating an expansive listening experience marked by detail and elevation. Difficult to place, her music sits somewhere between academic and popular, classical and underground, sound design and film music.

She has already been invited to prestigious national and international festivals, including Ars Electronica in Linz (AT), Romaeuropa Festival in Rome (IT), where she opened for Ben Frost, Maintenant Festival in Rennes (FR), Linecheck in Milan (IT) and Stadtsommer in Zurich (CH).

Her third album will be released by OUS Records in spring 2024. This label also released her previous albums (’Matter’ and ’Hyle’) as well as the first album of Musique Infinie, a collaboration between Noémi Büchi and the Swiss-Italian composer and installation artist Feldermelder.

noemibuchi.net

Mentor: Aïsha Devi

Julian Sartorius

Julian Sartorius © Nicole Pfister

Drummer, percussionist and artist Julian Sartorius uses his music to create new bodies of sound. Trained at Berne and Lucerne’s jazz schools by instrumentalists such as Fabian Kuratli, Pierre Favre and Norbert Pfammatter, he quickly developed his very own approach to music. His precise, complex and rhythmic patterns explore the possibilities of organic sound production. The sounds he discovers in found objects and reworked instruments are reminiscent of the vocabulary of experimental electronic music.

Sartorius has released several solo albums and produced audiovisual works. He has collaborated with many artists, most recently with Sophie Hunger, Sylvie Courvoisier, Gyda Valtysdottir, Dimlite, Shahzad Ismaily and Dan Carey. His percussion work features on albums by Kae Tempest, Matthew Herbert and Jameszoo. He performs live in clubs and galleries as well as at festivals.

juliansartorius.com

Mentor: Daniel “Duex” Fontana

The call for applications for the 2024-2026 edition of Fast Forward will open in July 2024. The artists will be selected by an international jury.

During the two-year programme, the selected artists may still apply to Pro Helvetia’s regular support measures, such as International presence  or Recording & international tour, as well as for all other types of support.

Fast Forward – Förderprogramm für Mid-Career-Musikschaffende

Musik
© Flora Mottini

Mit dem neuen, zweijährigen Förderprogramm unterstützen wir Musikschaffende aus der Schweiz in den Bereichen aktuelle Musik, Jazz und experimentelle Musik.

Die ausgewählten Musikerinnen und Musiker stehen an einem Wendepunkt ihrer Laufbahn und weisen internationale Erfahrung sowie ein besonderes Potenzial zur Entfaltung einer langfristigen internationalen Karriere auf. Die zweijährige Förderung ermöglicht ihnen, prozessorientiert an ihrem künstlerischen Output zu arbeiten und mit der Hilfe von Fachleuten eine langfristige Business-Strategie zu entwickeln.

Fast Forward zielt auf das Empowerment der künstlerischen Persönlichkeit, die Vertiefung von Business-Kenntnissen und die Erweiterung des internationalen Netzwerks. Die Musikschaffenden sollen in einem entscheidenden Karrieremoment substanziell und individuell gefördert und so ihre langfristige Etablierung in der internationalen Szene ermöglicht werden.

Künstlerisches Mentoring und strategische Entwicklung

Das Programm umfasst folgende Förderelemente: künstlerisch-kuratorisches Mentoring, Übernahme von Managementkosten, Teilnahme an zwei von Pro Helvetia organisierten, anwendungsorientierten Business- und Networking-Labs. Zudem können die geförderten Musikschaffenden einen bestimmten Betrag flexibel einsetzen, zum Beispiel für die Produktion von digitalen und visuellen Inhalten.

Zu den Lab-Gästen, die Inputs und Workshop anbieten, zählen internationale Referenzpersonen. In Absprache mit den Musikschaffenden findet während des gesamten Programms eine Begleitung durch Mentorinnen und Mentoren statt.


Pilot-Ausgabe 2023 – 2025

Im Rahmen der Pilot-Ausgabe werden fünf Mid-Career-Musikschaffende bedürfnisorientiert und zielgerichtet gefördert.

Andrina Bollinger

Andrina Bollinger © Sabina Bösch

Eine Stimme von der Dringlichkeit und Überzeugungskraft einer Andrina Bollinger ist selten.  Ob die Sängerin, Komponistin oder Performerin solo oder mit Band arbeitet, oder als Komponistin für Film- oder für Theaterproduktionen: – Ihre musikalische Laufbahn zeigt, dass sie zu einer der wichtigsten Figuren der Schweizer Musiklandschaft gehört.

Seit einigen Jahren richtet sie den Fokus ganz auf ihr Soloprojekt, das sie als Avantgarde-Pop gespickt mit Jazz-Einflüssen beschreibt.  2022 veröffentlichte sie ihr Debütalbum «Secret Seed», 2023 folgte die EP «Pleasure & Pain» auf dem Label Mouthwatering Records.

Solo und mit ihrer Band trat sie an renommierten internationalen Venues und Festivals auf, wie dem Montreux Jazz Festival, im Café de la Danse in Paris, am m4music Festival, den Winterthurer Musikfestwochen, im Istituto Svizzero in Rom, am Cully Jazz Festival oder in der Dampfzentrale Bern.

andrinabollinger.com

Mentorat: Mike Lindsay

Emilie Zoé

Emilie Zoé © David Wagnières

Als vorwiegend autodidaktische Musikschaffende schreibt und komponiert Emilie Zoé seit über 15 Jahren Songs und performt diese live. Zoés vier Soloalben sind beim unabhängigen Label Humus Records in La Chaux-de-Fonds erschienen, ebenso wie die Aufnahmen mehrerer Kollaborationen, darunter insbesondere /A\ mit Franz Treichler (The Young Gods, 2021) und Autisti mit Louis Jucker (2017).

Dank Stimme und magnetischer Präsenz machte sich Zoé einen Namen in der Szene und erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, wie den «Best Act Romandie» bei den Swiss Music Awards 2019, den «Schweizer Musikpreis» 2020 und den «Best Live Act» bei den Swiss Live Talents 2022. Zoés letztes, 2022 in zwei Teilen erschienenes Album «Hello Future Me» wurde von IndieSuisse zum «Album of the Year 2022» gekürt.

Im Rahmen der«Hello Future Tour» steht Zoé auf vielen renommierten Bühnen, so unter anderem bei den Nuits de Fourvière in Lyon (mit Kae Tempest), am Haldern Pop Festival und am Maifeld Derby, als Vorband von Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds im Auditorium Stravinski des Montreux Jazz Festival sowie im Vorprogramm von Muse in Bern.

emiliezoe.com

Mentorat: TBA

NNAVY

NNAVY © Emilien Itim

NNAVY ist eine Singer-Songwriterin, die mit ihrer souligen und ergreifenden Stimme die Herzen des Publikums gewonnen hat. Ihre ersten EPs «Blue» und «In Good Company» zeugen von ihrem einzigartigen und persönlichen Stil, der R&B-, Soul- und Jazz-Einflüsse miteinander verbindet.

Sie hat auf renommierten Festivals gespielt, wie dem Montreux Jazz Festival, Jazz à Vienne oder dem MaMA Music & Convention in Paris, und war Support für etablierte Acts wie Lionel Richie, Arlo Parks, Alfa Mist, November Ultra und Ben l’Oncle Soul. Ihre kraft- und gefühlvolle Bühnenpräsenz verzaubert stets aufs Neue.

Mit über 15 Millionen Streams auf Spotify hat die Musik von NNAVY weltweit treue Fans gefunden. Mit ihrer jüngsten EP «No Promises» beginnt ein neues Kapitel ihrer musikalischen Reise, zwischen Zerbrechlichkeit und Empowerment. Mit ihrer kraftvollen Stimme gehört sie zu den aufregendsten und vielversprechendsten Künstlerinnen der Soul- und R&B-Szene.

nnavymusic.com

Mentorat: TBA

Noémi Büchi

Noémi Büchi © Brigitte Faessler

Noémi Büchi ist eine schweizerisch-französische Komponistin und Klangkünstlerin, die einen elektronisch-symphonischen Maximalismus schafft. Ihre Musik ist geprägt von einer delikaten Synthese aus texturalen Rhythmen und elektroakustisch-orchestraler Abstraktion. Sie erforscht das Potenzial von Konsonanz und Dissonanz, kontrastiert rhythmische Körperlichkeit mit Unterbrechungen und betont spielerisch Unregelmässigkeiten, um ein ausgedehntes Hörerlebnis zu schaffen, das von Details und Erhebungen geprägt ist. Ihre Musik ist schwer einzuordnen, zwischen akademisch und populär, zwischen klassisch und underground, zwischen Sound Design und Filmmusik.

Büchi wurde an renommierte nationale und internationale Festivals eingeladen, wie das Ars Electronica in Linz, das Romaeuropa Festival in Rom, wo sie als Vorband für Ben Frost spielen konnte, das Maintenant Festival in Rennes, das Linecheck in Mailand oder den Stadtsommer in Zürich.

Im Frühjahr 2024 wird sie ihr drittes Album auf -OUS Records veröffentlichen. Auf diesem Label sind auch ihre vorherigen Alben «Matter» und «Hyle» sowie das erste Album von Musique Infinie erschienen, einer Kollaboration zwischen Büchi und dem italienisch-schweizerischen Komponisten und Installationskünstler Feldermelder.

noemibuchi.net

Mentorat: Aïsha Devi

Julian Sartorius

Julian Sartorius © Nicole Pfister

Der Schlagzeuger, Perkussionist und Künstler Julian Sartorius formt mit seinem Spiel ungehörte Klangkörper. An den Jazzschulen in Bern und Luzern von Instrumentalisten wie Fabian Kuratli, Pierre Favre und Norbert Pfammatter ausgebildet, entwickelte er rasch einen eigenständigen Zugang zur Musik. Seine präzisen und vielschichtigen rhythmischen Muster loten die Möglichkeiten der organischen Klangerzeugung aus. Die Sounds, die Sartorius in «Found Objects» und präparierten Instrumenten entdeckt, erinnern an das Vokabular der experimentellen elektronischen Musik.

Sartorius hat zahlreiche Soloalben veröffentlicht und audiovisuelle Arbeiten umgesetzt. Er arbeitet mit vielen anderen Musikschaffenden zusammen, wie zuletzt mit Sophie Hunger, Sylvie Courvoisier, Gyda Valtysdottir, Dimlite, Shahzad Ismaily oder Dan Carey. Seine perkussive Handschrift ist auch auf Alben von Kae Tempest, Matthew Herbert und Jameszoo zu hören. Live steht Sartorius sowohl in Clubs und Galerien als auch bei Festivals auf der Bühne.

juliansartorius.com

Mentorat: Daniel “Duex” Fontana

Die Ausschreibung für die Ausgabe 2024-2026 läuft vom 1. Juli bis zum 1. September 2024. Die Auswahl der Musikschaffenden erfolgt durch eine internationale Jury.

Gesuch einreichen

Die geförderten Musikerinnen und Musiker können während der zweijährigen Dauer des Programms weiterhin Gesuche in den üblichen Förderkategorien von Pro Helvetia, wie Internationale Präsenz oder Tonträger & internationale Tournee, sowie für alle anderen Förderformate einreichen.