Our Offices & Partners Abroad

Promotion of up-and-coming young theatre practitioners / Promotion of up-and-coming young choreographers

Séminaire en Avignon

Festival d’Avignon

Dates of the «Séminaire en Avignon» 2019

from 13 to 21 July

Launched jointly by the Avignon festival and Pro Helvetia in 2013, the «Séminaire en Avignon» offers up-and-coming young stage practitioners a platform for in-depth exchange in both theoretical and practical fields. Young artists from several countries are selected and given the possibility of participating in an intensive week of discovery in connection with contemporary artistic expression at the festival in Avignon. The programme enables participants – accompanied by a coach – to watch and discuss a wide variety of performances, to meet professional theatre practitioners from Europe and beyond, and to take part in debates with artists, critics and specialists of the performing arts who are attending the festival.

Selection process

A call for applications aimed at candidates from Switzerland is published at the beginning of the year on Pro Helvetia’s website. Eligible are theatre practitioners aged 35 or under who are professionally active on an ongoing basis in Switzerland, either at an institutionalised theatre or in the independent scene.

Stage directors, actors, performers, stage designers and choreographers can apply provided they already have some experience in planning and implementing projects of their own. A good command of French is also required.

Supported artists from Switzerland

2018: Mélanie Gobet, Arnaud Gonnet, Nicole Morel, Viviane Pavillon

2017: Emilie Blaser, Aude Bourrier, Lucie Eidenbenz, Lukas Stucki

2016: Barbara Falter, Camilla Parini, Martin Roehrich, Magali Tosato, Martina-Sofie Wildberger

2015: Audrey Cavelius, Isis Fahmy, Daniel Hellmann, Valerio Scamuffa, Nina Willimann

2014: Muriel Imbach, Christoph Keller, Markus Kubesch, Cédric Leproust, Anahí Traversi

2013: Ludovic Chazaud, Olivia Csiky Trnka, Cédric Djedje, Alexandre Doublet, Katy Hernan, Jessica Huber, Zofia Klyta-Lacombe, Joël Maillard, Martin Schick

(Photo: Festival d’Avignon © Christophe Raynaud de Lage)