Our Offices & Partners Abroad

Pro Helvetia Johannesburg

We have been committed to cultural exchange between Switzerland and Southern Africa through our liaison office in Johannesburg since 1998.

Areas of operation

South Africa, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambia, Namibia, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Tanzania, Lesotho, Swaziland, Malawi, Angola and Democratic Republic of the Congo.


To raise awareness of Swiss culture around the world, we forge ties with local event organisers, develop and nurture long-term partnerships, initiate co-productions with artists from the regions concerned and organise residencies.

Key focus

The programme is interdisciplinary in nature. Special emphasis is placed on the disciplines of visual and performing arts, music, design, new technologies and cultural outreach.

We focus on collaboration projects between cultural practitioners from Switzerland and Southern Africa, exhibitions of work by Swiss artists and residencies. The liaison office in Johannesburg is generally interested in projects at the interface of arts, social issues and politics.


Joseph Gaylard

Derin Ajao
Regional Programme Manager – West/Central Africa

Kampire Bahana
Regional Programme Manager – East Africa

Germaine Gamiet
Programme Manager - Music

Layla Leiman
Communication Manager

Tiffany Mentoor
Programme Administrator - Regional Arts

Pinky Mthembu
Finance & Administration Manager