NanoARTS: Selected Tandems 2022

Abstract blue bubbles
© Jean-Vincent Simonet

For the NanoARTS call, tandems consisting of Swiss artists and international scientists from the Adolphe Merkle Institute (AMI) submitted proposals exploring interfaces between art and nanoscience.

A transdisciplinary jury of experts has selected three tandems whose promising collaborations will start in the next months.

The three selected tandems are:

Claudia Christen / Jessica Clough

Claudia Christen [visual artist]
Jessica Clough [group leader in Polymer Chemistry & Materials]

In their joint research, the tandem partners wish to explore connections and synergies between nanoscience and photography. The goal is to develop new methods of drawing with light through the use of mechano-responsive molecules which give out light when activated by force. The tandem partners will work closely and combine their knowledge on light, optical signals and mechanical processes in both photography and nanoscience.

Yvo Goette / Alke Fink

Yvo Goette [designer]
Alke Fink [professor for BioNanomaterials]

The starting point of this joint investigation are scientific imaging methods used to visualize the micro- and nanostructure of materials. Using these methods, the tandem will collect and translate data with the intention of building hypothetical 3D material models through parametric computer-aided design. The goal of the collaboration is to use the artistic design process to reveal and translate digital structures through various media.

Pedro Wirz / Christoph Weder

Pedro Wirz [visual artist]
Christoph Weder [professor for Polymer Chemistry & Materials]

The tandem proposes to question the term and usage of “sustainability” through a transdisciplinary dialogue between the arts and science. The dialogue will revolve around concepts such as technology vs. nature; value-added recycling and reuse, nanostructures in natural and artificial materials, amongst others. The tandem will ultimately create objects to document their dialogue, using different artificial and natural materials.

The Jury consisted of:

  • Giulia Bini, curator and production manager at the EPFL pavilions
  • Valeria Mozzetti, head of Technology Transfer and Innovation at Adolphe Merkle Institute
  • Ingeborg Reichle, professor of media theory at the University of Applied Arts Vienna
  • Claudia Schnugg, art-science consultant, researcher and curator