Our Offices & Partners Abroad

Dossier >

Cahiers d’Artistes

Cahiers d'Artistes in Moscow © Grigory Matveev

Information

Josiane Imhasly
Visual Arts Specialist

Contact

Detailed information at

cahiers.ch

With its Collection Cahiers d’Artistes, the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia enables emerging Swiss artists the publication of an initial monographic publication and provides arts specialists and interested audiences with a window to current trends in the Swiss arts scene.

Every two years and based on the recommendation of a jury, Pro Helvetia selects eight artists who applied in response to a public call for applications. The ensuing publication is the result of close collaboration between the artist concerned, the author, the graphic designers, the publishers and Pro Helvetia.

Through its national and international networks and its direct contacts with institutions, Pro Helvetia distributes the Cahiers d’Artistes to curators and critics around the world. It also fosters debate on the topics of the publication at various public events.

The Swiss Arts Council launched the Collection Cahiers d’Artistes in 1984. Taken as a whole, the series offers an extensive view of Swiss arts production over the past 35 years.

 

Archive

All Cahiers d’Artistes can be accessed digitally via the archive. It includes publications by artists such as Fischli/Weiss (1985), Pipilotti Rist (1994), Valentin Carron (2004) and Claudia Comte (2014), and texts by critics such as Jean-Christophe Ammann (1986), Rein Wolfs (1999), Dorothea Strauss (2004) and Chris Kraus (2019). Around 160 Cahiers d’Artistes have been published to date. The website also contains a list with the names of all the artists who have published a Cahiers d’Artistes and the authors who wrote an accompanying text in the Cahiers.

These monographs were initially self-published. Towards the end of the 1990s, Lars Müller Publishers was commissioned with the publication, before the responsibility was assigned to Edizioni Periferia, Luzern/Poschiavo in 2006. The design of the Cahiers has been in the hands of the graphic design studio Bonbon in Zurich since 2015.

Orders

The series VI-XV (from 2006 to the present day) can be ordered at Edizioni Periferia. Earlier series are mostly out of print; for further information please contact Josiane Imhasly.

Eight Cahiers d’Artistes of the following artists are due to be published in June 2021:

Dorota Gawęda *1986 Lublin PL and Eglė Kulbokaitė *1987 Kaunas LT, living and working in Basel

Dorota Gawęda and Eglė Kulbokaitė are avid readers. This is reflected by their long-term project called YOUNG GIRL READING GROUP, which was launched in 2013 and represented the starting point of their collaboration as a duo. According to author Jeppe Ugelvig, their art is like a station that broadcasts stories. The two artists draw from a variety of sources, yet they are increasingly moving away from Western academic discourse and closer to folklore and other popular sources (e.g. folkloric myths , stories about magical practices and court records documenting witch trials). Key topics of their practice include our relationship with nature and technology, and gender-related issues. With their multi-media works, which include performance, video, fragrances, installations, sculpture and photography, they offer audiences alternative forms of presentation and perception.

 

Dorota Gawęda and Eglė Kulbokaitė, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Dorota Gawęda and Eglė Kulbokaitė / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

gawedakulbokaite.com

 

Roman Gysin *1984 Möhlin, lives and works in Zürich

Roman Gysin derived inspiration for his Cahier d’Artistes from the design of fashion and interior design magazines, which is not surprising given his predilection for decoration and a camp aesthetic based on everyday culture and its exaggeration. In a playful way, he combines pictures showing his studio with views of his works and photographs that were taken by himself or from his collection. The motives and ornaments of the photographs enter into a fascinating dialogue with his own, skilfully hand-crafted works. In the accompanying text, Sylvain Menétrey explores the links of Gysin’s work to (post-)minimalism and queer aesthetics and explores the means by which the artist effortlessly dissolves the borders between highbrow and popular culture.

 


Roman Gysin, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Roman Gysin / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

romangysin.com

 

Andreas Hochuli *1982 Zurich, lives and works in Geneva

In his Cahier d’Artistes, Andreas Hochuli presents a catalogue raisonné of his paintings to date. The digitally hung 131 pictures are presented as if by a gliding camera, which is in keeping with his work method involving digital conceptualisation and physical execution. Pictures of bodies are aligned with abstract forms and images of words (e.g. Wohnen, bauen denken [dwelling, building, thinking]). Hochuli is interested in people, their relations and identities, as well as in the current state and future development of society. His works contain references to sociology, music and the history of art. They explore signs and their cultural background, always with an element of humour and often also with a touch of melancholy. The publication is interspersed with texts by the artist, which together with his paintings enter into an associative dialogue with the poetic text written by Ingo Niermann.

 


Andreas Hochuli, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Andreas Hochuli / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

andreashochuli.com

 

Sandra Knecht *1968, lives and works in Buus

Sandra Knecht is well-known for Immer wieder sonntags [Always on Sundays], her unique culinary creations and hosting at “Chnächt”, a barn that she transported from the Jura region to the banks of the Rhine in Basel. Her artistic cooking practice is at the heart of the Cahier d’Artistes and the text by Koyo Kouoh. This practice includes the preservation of her “homeland” as well as a quest for identity through fragrances and taste, hospitality and the exploration of the transformative potential of preparing food and eating together. The monograph also shows how Sandra Knecht uses photography, video, sculpture, and installation as means of processing and expressing key concerns of hers – responsibility, equality and transformation.

 


Sandra Knecht, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Sandra Knecht / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

sandraknecht.ch

 

Marie Matusz *1994 Toulouse, lives and works in Basel and Zurich

In her Cahier d’Artistes, Marie Matusz presents black-and-white photographs of her great-grandmother’s home, a richly decorated house containing countless reproductions of classical paintings. The year printed on the photos imply that they were taken in 1994 – a technical error that fascinates the artist. For she is not only interested in sociology and linguistics, but also in philosophy and questions regarding the dissolution of time and space. Other groups of works by Marie Matusz depicted in the Cahier d’Artistes deal with topics such as historical and contemporary power structures, nature and justice. Alan Longino describes the mood in her work with a term borrowed from Thomas Gray, leucocholy, meaning a “good easy sort of state”, a “white melancholy”. Terms with which Marie Matusz can identify.

 


Marie Matusz, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Marie Matusz / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

Noha Mokhtar *1987 Geneva, lives and works in Zurich and New York City

Inspired by ethnographical research methods, Noha Mokhtar’s artistic practice comprises photography, installation and objects. She explores ways in which spaces and objects interrelate with social and political themes and various manifestations of power. History, culture and domesticity are key terms in this context. A special focus of hers is on the influence that space and material objects of a specific environment exert on the enactment of social relations. In the Cahier d’Artistes, Mokhtar combines her own photographs with found images as well as with objects and short texts. Sarah Rifky’s essay offers methods for analysing Mokhtar’s work based on the following terms: fold, rotation, dream, pattern, glitter, cast, break, repetition, descent, dream, fold.

 


Noha Mokhtar, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Noha Mokhtar / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

nohamokhtar.ch

 

Elena Montesinos *1971, lives and works in Geneva

Elena Montesinos is a cultural agitator in the best possible sense. She bubbles over with ideas for artistic or curatorial projects. These are not always realised, for a variety of reasons: because of exorbitant production costs, because they are rejected outright, because they are too unsettling, or simply because they are illegal. In her Cahier d’Artistes entitled UNRELEASED, 20 unpublished projects are given a literary staging by The Montesinos Foundation. The Cahier offers audiences a journey through Elena Montesinos’ world of fantasy, in which she can realise her activist and transformative potential without restriction. Because collaboration and a variety of voices are so important to her, she invited five of her companions (Samuel Gross, Eve-Marie Knoerle, Irène Languin, Luca Pattaroni and Claude-Hubert Tatot) to write a short text each about different aspects of her work (e.g. ecology and humour).

 


Elena Montesinos / The Montesinos Foundation, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Elena Montesinos / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

themontesinosfoundation.org

 

Ramaya Tegegne *1985 Geneva, lives and works in Geneva

Ramaya Tegegne spotlights mechanisms of dominance and power structures within  culture by observing their economics, circulation and historical narratives. She creates performances and installations, and advocates alternative and fair economic practices in the world of arts with a campaign entitled Wages For Wages Against. The aim is to achieve better working conditions and appropriate remuneration for arts practitioners. Ramaya Tegegne’s Cahier d’Artiste presents an overview of her artistic and activist projects and discusses the economic conditions under which they were realised. The accompanying text by Chaédria LaBouvier places her work in contexts of activism, race and gender as well as mutual care (“We Are Each Other’s Business, We Are Each Other’s Harvest”).

 


Ramaya Tegegne, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Ramaya Tegegne / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

ramaya.ch

 

Orders

Currently available Cahiers d’Artistes can be ordered at Edizioni Periferia.

periferia.ch

Jury

  • Fanni Fetzer, Director of Kunstmuseum Luzern
  • Luca Frei, Artist, Lugano/Malmö
  • Samuel Leuenberger, Curator of SALTS and Art Parcours, Basel
  • Denis Pernet, Associate Curator of Audemars Piguet Art Programme, Lausanne

Other Dossiers

Nos bureaux et partenaires dans le monde

Dossier >

Cahiers d’Artistes

Cahiers d'Artistes in Moscow © Grigory Matveev

Renseignements

Josiane Imhasly
Spécialiste Arts visuels

Contact

Informations détaillées sous

cahiers.ch

Avec la Collection Cahiers d’Artistes, Pro Helvetia permet à des artistes suisses prometteurs de publier une première monographie tout en offrant aux professionnels de l’art et au public intéressé une vitrine des tendances actuelles de la scène artistique suisse.

Sur recommandation d’un jury, Pro Helvetia sélectionne tous les deux ans huit artistes qui ont répondu à un appel à candidatures public. Les publications sont le fruit d’une étroite collaboration entre les artistes, les auteures et les auteurs, le bureau de graphisme, la maison d’édition et Pro Helvetia.

Grâce à son réseau national et international et ses contacts directs avec les institutions, la Fondation suisse pour la culture permet la diffusion des Cahiers d’Artistes auprès des curatrices, curateurs et critiques d’art du monde entier. Par ailleurs, Pro Helvetia stimule le discours sur le thème de l’édition dans le cadre de manifestations publiques.

La Collection Cahiers d’Artistes a été lancée en 1984 par la Fondation suisse pour la culture, offrant un large aperçu de l’activité artistique suisse des 35 dernières années.

 

Archive

L’archive en ligne permet de consulter tous les exemplaires des Cahiers d’Artistes en format numérique. On y trouve des publications d’artistes tels que Fischli/Weiss (1985), Pipilotti Rist (1994), Valentin Carron (2004) ou Claudia Comte (2014), y compris des textes de critiques d’art tels que Jean-Christophe Ammann (1986), Rein Wolfs (1999), Dorothea Strauss (2004) ou Chris Kraus (2019). Quelque 160 publications ont déjà vu le jour. En outre, le site web propose une liste de tous les artistes ayant publié un Cahiers d’Artistes, ainsi que toutes les auteures et auteurs ayant rédigé un texte.

À l’origine publiés en autoédition, les Cahiers d’Artistes ont été repris par Lars Müller Publishers à la fin des années 90. Depuis 2006, leur publication est assurée par Edizioni Periferia, Luzern/Poschiavo. Le bureau de graphisme zurichois Bonbon se charge de leur conception depuis 2015.

Commandes

Les séries VI-XV (2006 à nos jours) peuvent être commandées auprès des Edizioni Periferia. Les séries antérieures sont en grande partie épuisées ; pour plus d’informations, veuillez contacter Josiane Imhasly.

En juin 2021 seront publiés les huit Cahiers d’Artistes des artistes suivants :

Dorota Gawęda *1986 Lublin PL et Eglė Kulbokaitė *1987 Kaunas LT, vivent et travaillent à Bâle

Dorota Gawęda et Eglė Kulbokaitė sont des lectrices assidues – une passion qui trouve son expression dans leur projet à long terme YOUNG GIRL READING GROUP qui marqua le début de leur collaboration en duo en 2013. Comme l’écrit l’auteur Jeppe Ugelvig, leur travail artistique est une station émettrice permettant la diffusion d’histoires. À cette fin, les artistes puisent dans différentes sources, se détournant toutefois progressivement du discours académique occidental pour privilégier des textes vernaculaires (par ex. mythes folkloriques, histoires de pratiques magiques ou dossiers judiciaires de procès de sorcellerie). Sur le plan thématique, les deux artistes examinent notre relation avec la nature et la technologie, ou encore les questions de genre. Avec leurs œuvres multimédias qui comprennent, outre la performance et la vidéo, des parfums, des installations, des sculptures et des photographies, les artistes proposent des formes de perception et de représentation alternatives.

 

Dorota Gawęda und Eglė Kulbokaitė, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Dorota Gawęda und Eglė Kulbokaitė / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

gawedakulbokaite.com

 

Roman Gysin *1984 Möhlin, vit et travaille à Zurich

Pour son Cahier d’Artistes, Roman Gysin s’est inspiré du design des magazines de mode et d’architecture intérieure – fait guère surprenant vu sa prédilection pour la décoration et l’esthétique camp orientée sur l’exagération et la culture quotidienne. Gysin entrelace de manière ludique des images de son atelier avec des vues d’œuvres et de photographies qu’il a lui-même prises ou collectionnées. Les motifs et ornements des photographies entament un dialogue passionnant avec les œuvres que Gysin réalise avec une grande dextérité dans son atelier. Le texte de Sylvain Menétrey examine la relation de l’œuvre de Gysins avec le (post-) minimalisme et l’esthétique queer, soulignant la manière dont l’artiste brouille les lignes entre la culture élitiste et populaire.

 


Roman Gysin, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Roman Gysin / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

romangysin.com

 

Andreas Hochuli *1982 Zurich, vit et travaille à Genève

Dans son Cahier d’Artistes, Andreas Hochuli présente un catalogue raisonné de ses peintures réalisées à ce jour. Un accrochage numérique de 131 tableaux est parcouru à la manière d’un travelling, reflétant un mode de travail à mi-chemin entre la conception numérique et la réalisation physique. Des images de corps côtoient des formes abstraites ou des images de mots (par ex. Wohnen, bauen, denken [vivre, construire, penser]). Hochuli s’intéresse aux êtres humains, à leurs relations et à leurs identités, à la société, à son état actuel ainsi qu’à son développement futur. Son œuvre tisse des liens avec la sociologie, la musique et l’histoire de l’art. Elle interroge les signes et leur conditionnement culturel, avec une pincée d’humour et un brin de mélancolie. L’ensemble est ponctué de textes de l’artiste qui, avec ses peintures, donnent lieu à un dialogue associatif avec le texte poétique d’Ingo Niermann.

 


Andreas Hochuli, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Andreas Hochuli / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

andreashochuli.com

 

Sandra Knecht *1968, vit et travaille à Buus

Sandra Knecht est connue pour ses dîners intitulés Immer wieder sonntags [Toujours les dimanches] à Chnächt, une grange jurassienne qu’elle a transportée sur les rives du Rhin à Bâle. Sa pratique artistique culinaire forme la clé de voûte du Cahier d’Artistes ainsi que du texte de Koyo Kouoh. Cette approche englobe aussi bien la conservation du patrimoine culinaire que la quête d’identité à travers les odeurs et les saveurs, l’hospitalité et l’exploration du potentiel transformatif de la préparation des aliments et des repas en commun. Par ailleurs, la publication montre que pour aborder ses thèmes de prédilection – responsabilité, égalité et transformation – Sandra Knecht recourt également à la photographie, la vidéo, la sculpture et l’installation.

 


Sandra Knecht, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Sandra Knecht / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

sandraknecht.ch

 

Marie Matusz *1994 Toulouse, vit et travaille à Bâle et Zurich

Dans son Cahier d’Artistes, Marie Matusz présente des photographies en noir et blanc de la maison de son arrière-grand-mère, une opulente demeure richement ornée d’innombrables reproductions des peintures classiques. La date sur les photographies suggère qu’elles ont été prises en 1994. Cette erreur technique a fasciné l’artiste, qui s’intéresse non seulement à la sociologie et à la linguistique, mais aussi à la philosophie et aux questions portant sur la dissolution de l’espace et du temps. D’autre part, le Cahier d’Artistes réunit différents groupes d’œuvres qui thématisent les structures de pouvoir contemporaines, la nature et la justice. Alan Longino décrit l’ambiance de l’œuvre de Matusz avec le terme leucocholy emprunté à Thomas Gray : «a good easy sort of state», une «mélancolie blanche» dans laquelle Marie Matusz se retrouve.

 


Marie Matusz, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Marie Matusz / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

Noha Mokhtar *1987 Genève, vit et travaille à Zurich et New York City

Inspirée par les méthodes de recherche ethnographique, la pratique artistique de Noha Mokhtar englobe la photographie, l’installation et les objets. L’artiste examine la manière dont les espaces et les objets sont liés aux thèmes sociaux et politiques ainsi qu’aux différentes formes de pouvoir. Dans ce contexte, l’artiste se penche sur des concepts tels que l’histoire, la culture et la domesticité. L’accent est placé sur la manière dont l’espace et la matérialité de l’environnement influent sur les relations sociales. Dans son Cahier d’Artistes, Noha Mokhtar combine tantôt ses propres travaux photographiques avec des images trouvées, tantôt des objets avec de petits textes. Parallèlement, l’essai de Sarah Rifky suggère des méthodes d’analyse de l’œuvre de Noha Mokhtar à l’aide des termes suivants : pli, rotation, rêve, motif, étincelle, coulage, fracture, répétition, descente, rêve, pli.

 


Noha Mokhtar, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Noha Mokhtar / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

nohamokhtar.ch

 

Elena Montesinos *1971, vit et travaille à Genève

Elena Montesinos est une agitatrice culturelle au bon sens du terme. Si elle déborde d’idées pour des projets artistiques et curatoriaux, ceux-ci ne sont pas toujours menés à bien, que ce soit en raison de leur coût de production exorbitant, d’un rejet, ou de leur caractère perturbateur, voire illégal. Dans son Cahier d’Artistes intitulé UNRELEASED, la Montesinos Foundation propose vingt projets inédits en vue d’une exécution littéraire. Le Cahier d’Artistes invite à un voyage à travers l’imagination d‘Elena Montesino, où son potentiel activiste et transformateur trouve l’occasion de se déployer sans retenue. Et comme l’artiste privilégie la collaboration et la polyphonie, elle a convié cinq complices (Samuel Gross, Eve-Marie Knoerle, Irène Languin, Luca Pattaroni et Claude-Hubert Tatot) pour rédiger un petit texte sur différents aspects de son travail (par ex. l’écologie ou l’humour).

 


Elena Montesinos / The Montesinos Foundation, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Elena Montesinos / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

themontesinosfoundation.org

 

Ramaya Tegegne *1985 Genève, vit et travaille à Genève

Ramaya Tegegne expose les mécanismes de la domination et les rapports de pouvoir dans le contexte culturel en observant son économie, sa circulation et son historisation. Outre ses performances et ses installations, elle s’engage en faveur d’une économie alternative et équitable dans le domaine de l’art par le biais de la campagne Wages For Wages Against qui revendique pour les artistes des meilleures conditions de travail ainsi qu’une rémunération adéquate. Le Cahier d’Artistes de Ramaya Tegegne offre une vue d’ensemble de ses projets d’artiste et d’activiste tout en thématisant les conditions économiques dans lesquelles ils sont réalisés. Le texte de Chaédria LaBouvier présente l’œuvre de l’artiste dans le contexte de l’activisme, de la race et du genre ainsi que de l’assistance mutuelle (« We Are Each Other’s Business, We Are Each Other’s Harvest »).

 


Ramaya Tegegne, Cahier d’Artistes, 2021 © Ramaya Tegegne / Bonbon / Pro Helvetia

ramaya.ch

 

Commandes

Les commandes peuvent être effectuées auprès des Edizioni Periferia

periferia.ch

Jury

  • Fanni Fetzer, directrice Kunstmuseum Luzern
  • Luca Frei, artiste, Lugano/Malmö
  • Samuel Leuenberger, curateur SALTS et Parcours, Art Basel
  • Denis Pernet, curateur associé Audemars Piguet Art Programme, Lausanne

Autres dossiers