Our Offices & Partners Abroad

Dossier >

Design

«Feuille Lamp» 2018, Florian Hauswirth © Stefan Hofmann

International Platforms

With the support of Pro Helvetia, Swiss design practitioners participate in the following events, among others:

Shenzhen Creative Week

Fuorisalone (Palazzo Litta, Milan)

3 Days of Design (Copenhagen)

London Design Biennale

Design Junction (London)

Designer’s Saturday (Langenthal)

Discover our online platform addressed to the design industry in Switzerland

designswitzerland.ch

Pro Helvetia promotes design in all its different facets:«From drawing board and reflection to market.» Aesthetic, cultural and social criteria are all taken into consideration, as is the positioning of a design project with regard to market, industry and innovation.

With its Culture and Business programme (2016–2020), Pro Helvetia has developed various formats with which to provide targeted support for projects by Swiss designers at all stages of the value chain (concept, prototype, production, project expansion).

Projects with a strong focus on reflection about design are fostered in the context of visual arts. Pro Helvetia supports related exhibitions, biennials, knowledge exchange, publications and residencies in Switzerland and abroad.

International Platforms
By backing the presence of selected designers at national and international events, Pro Helvetia helps put them in touch with producers, investors and audiences interested in design.

«Design Switzerland»
Swiss design stands for innovation, quality, longevity and intelligent execution. To raise awareness of the presence of Swiss delegations at international design events and to provide information about the Swiss design scene in general, Pro Helvetia launched «Design Switzerland» with an associated website in September 2018.

(Foto: «Feuille Lamp» 2018, Florian Hauswirth © Stefan Hofmann)

 

This application guide for design promotion describes the various funding measures adopted by the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia in the field of design. This guide is valid until the end of 2020.

Status: January 2020

These guidelines for design promotion describe the various funding measures adopted by the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia in the field of design. These guidelines are valid until the end of 2020.

In the area of design, Pro Helvetia promotes all areas of professional design (textile, fashion, industrial, product, service, graphic design, etc.) through two different approaches.

By promoting market access, Pro Helvetia supports projects by young Swiss designers towards market entry. This goal is achieved through calls for projects for concept and product promotion and by supporting trade fair participation and delegations to platforms in Switzerland and abroad. These measures can be supplemented with individual coaching.

Pro Helvetia promotes established Swiss design by promoting national and international design projects with national and international reach and with a view to their societal impact. It supports the cultural dissemination of Swiss design at home and abroad as well as publications and certain forms of knowledge exchange.

1. Market access promotion

The aim of market access promotion is to facilitate national and international market access for young designers. It is aimed at Swiss designers up to seven years after graduation or within the first seven years after founding their agency.

The projects supported are characterised by design quality, a high degree of innovation, long-term benefits, clear entrepreneurial objectives and marketability.

Exclusions

No funding is granted for:

  • infrastructure costs;
  • projects that do not depend on financial support.

Pro Helvetia is unable to consider:

  • projects either part of a school or university curriculum or of basic and further training (including dissertations, diploma projects, etc.) if the project organisers are not the principal copyright holders and hold the rights of use.
  • (commercial) contract work and projects part of advertising campaigns.
  • commercial galleries and collector’s items.
1.1 Calls for Design Funding

Pro Helvetia supports the creation of sustainable, marketable design products through issuing annual calls for projects. It envisages four funding stages from concept to market launch.

  • concept development funding
  • prototype development funding
  • production funding
  • project extension funding

The supported projects can be supplemented by individual coaching measures.

Factsheet Call for Projects – Design

1.2 Individual trade fair participation

The Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia supports presentations, stays and invitations by Swiss designers at trade fairs and market-oriented events to give them international visibility and enable a first step into the global market.

Factsheet Design Trade Fair Participation

1.3 Delegations

Pro Helvetia regularly organises participation at market-oriented platforms in Switzerland and abroad. As a rule, participation includes a booth and individually organised matchmaking events. Calls for projects are issued via this page and designswitzerland.ch

2. Promotion of design projects with societal impact

The promotion of design projects with a societal impact aims to deepen and disseminate the discourse on the role of design in society. Pro Helvetia supports exhibition and publication projects as well as certain forms of knowledge exchange. Projects are characterised by a profound engagement with societal themes and relate to the contemporary work of designers of national importance whose projects have achieved national and international impact through several years of trade fair participation or events. As a national foundation, Pro Helvetia complements the funding provided by Switzerland’s cantons and municipalities as well as by private foundations. The Arts Council only supports projects of national or international importance.

Factsheet Promotion of Design Projects with Societal Impact

3. Residencies

Pro Helvetia supports residencies and research trips of Swiss designers in China, India (and other South Asian countries), Russia, Egypt (and other Arab countries) and southern Africa.

Guidelines Residencies

London designjunction / Florian Hauswirth / Diiis Designstudio / Rafael Kouto / Salone del Mobile 2018

«Design Switzerland» at London designjunction

More information

To the article

Under the label «Design Switzerland», Pro Helvetia presented a selection of seven studios at London designjunction. The stand-out feature of the projects presented is their diversity: costume drones dedicated to entertainment, a line of technical clothing for rugby, a collective exploring new paths between LED lighting and textiles or a residential project in Burkina Faso and Greenland, which involves local designers and craftspeople working together.


Designer Florian Hauswirth at his studio

More information

To the article

Florian Hauswirth was born in Zurich. After spells in Basel, Lausanne, New York and London he now lives in Biel. For the past ten years, he has been working there in a former factory building. Pro Helvetia paid the industrial designer a visit at his studio.


Design Duo Diiis at their Studio

More information

To the article

Website

diiis.ch

Products by the design duo Diiis are playful, plain and adaptable to individual requirements. Pro Helvetia paid the two product designers Susanne Roser and Martina Staub a visit at their studio in Liestal.


Designer Rafael Kouto at his studio

More information

To the article

Rafael Kouto transforms old and used goods into something new and unique. By what is known as upcycling, the Swiss fashion designer turns discarded clothes and textiles into customized new items. Pro Helvetia visited him at his studio in Zurich.


SWISS ❤ DESIGN – Review

More information

To the article

Six Swiss design studios were present at this year’s Salone del Mobile from 17 to 22 April in Milan. The video offers a review of Switzerland’s presence at the world-famous furniture trade fair and insights into some of the results of Pro Helvetia’s design promotion programme.

 

Other Dossiers

Nos bureaux et partenaires dans le monde

Dossier >

Design

«Feuille Lamp» 2018, Florian Hauswirth © Stefan Hofmann

Plateformes internationales

Les designers suisses et leurs projets sont présentés avec le soutien de la Fondation aux manifestations suivantes (entre autres):

Shenzhen Creative Week

Fuorisalone (Palazzo Litta, Milan)

3 Days of Design (Copenhague)

London Design Biennale (Londres)

Design Junction (Londres)

Designer’s Saturday (Langenthal)

Découvrez notre plateforme online consacrée à l’industrie suisse du design

designswitzerland.ch

«De la réflexion au marché» – Pro Helvetia encourage le design sous toutes ses formes. Dans les processus créatifs, les valeurs esthétiques, culturelles et sociales sont aussi importantes que le positionnement du design sur le marché, entre industrie et innovation.

Dans le cadre du point fort Culture & économie (2016 – 2020), Pro Helvetia a mis au point divers formats pour offrir aux projets de designers suisses un soutien aussi ciblé que possible à tous les niveaux de l’échelle de valeurs (concept, prototype, production, extension du projet).

Les projets avec un important focus sur la réflexion en matière de design sont encouragés dans le cadre des arts visuels. Dans ce contexte, Pro Helvetia soutient expositions, biennales, échanges de savoir, publications, ou encore résidences en Suisse et à l’étranger.

Plateformes internationales
En soutenant leur présence à des plateformes nationales et internationales choisies, Pro Helvetia permet aux créateurs d’accéder à des producteurs, investisseurs ainsi qu’un public passionné de design.

«Design Switzerland»
Le design suisse est synonyme d’innovation, de qualité, de durabilité ainsi que d’une exécution intelligente. Pour donner un visage à la présence suisse sur les plateformes internationales tout en informant le public sur la scène suisse du design, Pro Helvetia a lancé «Design Switzerland» en septembre 2018, accompagné d’un site web.

(Foto: «Feuille Lamp» 2018, Florian Hauswirth © Stefan Hofmann)

Le présent mémento Encouragement au design décrit les diverses mesures d’encouragement de la Fondation Pro Helvetia dans le domaine du design. Ces mesures sont en vigueur jusqu’à la fin de l’année 2020.

État: janvier 2020

Dans le domaine du design, Pro Helvetia encourage tous les secteurs de la création professionnelle en design (design textile, stylisme, design industriel, conception des produits, design de service, graphisme, etc.) selon deux approches différentes.

À l’enseigne de l’encouragement en vue d’un accès au marché, Pro Helvetia soutient des projets de jeunes designers lors de leur accès au marché. Les instruments utilisés sont des appels à projets encouragemeant le concept et le produit et des soutiens à la participation à des foires et à des délégations lors de plateformes en Suisse ou à l’étranger. Des offres de mentorat individuel peuvent venir compléter ces mesures.

Pro Helvetia promeut le design suisse établi en soutenant des projets d’envergure nationale et internationale en vue d’en accroître l’impact social. Bénéficient d’un soutien la diffusion culturelle, en Suisse et à l’étranger, de la création suisse en design, ainsi que des publications et certaines formes de partage de connaissances.

1. Encouragement en vue d’un accès au marché

L’encouragement en vue d’un accès au marché a pour objectif de permettre aux jeunes designers d’accéder au marché national et international. Il est destiné à des designers suisses jusqu’à sept ans après la fin de leurs études ou pendant les sept premières années suivant la fondation de leur entreprise.

Les projets soutenus se distinguent par leur qualité créatrice, un niveau élevé d’innovation, une utilité durable, des objectifs entrepreneuriaux clairs et leur potentiel commercial.

Restrictions

La Fondation n’accorde pas de subsides lorsque:

  • le soutien concerne des frais d’infrastructure;
  • le projet n’est pas tributaire d’un soutien financier.

Ne sont pas pris en considération:

  • les projets entrant dans le cadre d’un cursus scolaire ou universitaire, d’une formation initiale ou d’une formation continue (y compris thèses de doctorat, travaux de diplôme, etc.) ou dont les responsables ne possèdent pas la majorité des droits d’auteur et des droits d’utilisation;
  • les mandats (commerciaux) et les projets entrant dans le cadre d’une campagne publicitaire;
  • les galeries commerciales et les objets de collection.
1.1 Appel à projets Encouragement au design

Pro Helvetia soutient par des appels annuels à projets l’élaboration de produits design durables et commercialisables. La Fondation distingue quatre niveaux d’encouragement, de l’idée au lancement sur le marché:

  • subside à l’élaboration de l’idée;
  • subside à l’élaboration de prototypes;
  • subside à la production;
  • subside à l’extension du projet.

Des offres de mentorat individuel peuvent venir compléter le soutien au projet.

Aide-mémoire Appel à projets Design

1.2 Participation individuelle à des foires

La Fondation suisse pour la culture Pro Helvetia soutient les designers suisses lors de présentations, séjours et invitations à des foires spécialisées et à des événements ciblant le marché afin de donner à ces designers une visibilité internationale et de leur permettre les premiers pas sur le marché international.

Aide-mémoire Participation aux foires de design

1.3 Délégations

Pro Helvetia organise régulièrement des participations à des plateformes de Suisse et de l’étranger qui ciblent le marché. La participation comprend en règle générale la présence à un stand et des occasions de mise en relation organisées individuellement. Les appels à projets sont publiés sur cette page et sur designswitzerland.ch.

2. Encouragement de projets de design à impact social

L’encouragement de projets de design à impact social vise à approfondir et à promouvoir le débat sur le rôle du design dans la société. Le soutien accordé concerne des projets d’exposition et de publications et certaines formes de partage de connaissances. Les projets se distinguent par le traitement solide de thèmes sociaux et touchent la création contemporaine de designers de renom national dont les réalisations ont obtenu un rayonnement national et international grâce à plusieurs années de présence sur des foires ou lors d’événements. En tant que fondation nationale, Pro Helvetia complète l’activité d’encouragement des villes et des cantons ou de fondations privées et soutient uniquement des projets de portée nationale ou internationale.

Aide-mémoire Encouragement de projets de design à impact social

3. Résidences

Pro Helvetia soutient des programmes de résidence – voyages de recherche ou résidences – à l’intention des designers suisses en Chine, en Inde (ainsi que dans d’autres pays d’Asie du Sud), en Russie, en Égypte (et d’autres pays du monde arabe) ainsi qu’en Afrique australe.

Guide à l’usage des requérants Résidences

London designjunction / Florian Hauswirth / Diiis Designstudio / Rafael Kouto / Salone del Mobile 2018

«Design Switzerland» à la London designjunction

Plus d'infos

voir l'article

Site internet

designswitzerland.ch

Sous le label «Design Switzerland», Pro Helvetia a présenté une sélection de sept studios à la London designjunction. La sélection des projets présentés se distingue par sa diversité: parmi eux, des drones costumés voués au divertissement, une ligne de vêtements techniques pour le rugby, un collectif explorant de nouvelles pistes entre éclairage LED et textile ou encore un projet de résidences, au Burkina Faso et Groenland, qui fait collaborer des designers et artisans locaux.


Le designer Florian Hauswirth dans son atelier

Plus d'infos

voir l'article

Site internet

florianhauswirth.ch

Après des séjours à Bâle, Lausanne, New York et Londres, le Zurichois Florian Hauswirth a jeté l’ancre dans une ancienne usine de Bienne, où il travaille désormais depuis dix ans. Pro Helvetia a rendu visite au designer industriel dans son atelier.


Le duo design Diiis dans son atelier

Plus d'infos

voir l'article

Site internet

diiis.ch

Ludiques, épurées et adaptables aux goûts individuels: telles sont les qualités des créations du studio de design Diiis. Pro Helvetia a rendu visite aux designers de produits Susanne Roser et Martina Staub dans leur atelier à Liestal.


Le designer Rafael Kouto dans son atelier

Plus d’infos

voir l'article

Site internet

rafaelkouto.com

Rafael Kouto crée des pièces nouvelles et uniques à partir de vêtements usagés: adepte de la philosophie de l’upcycling, le styliste suisse s’approprie des vêtements seconde main et des étoffes usées pour réaliser des tenues uniques. Pro Helvetia lui a rendu visite dans son atelier de Zurich.


SWISS ❤ DESIGN – Rétrospective

Plus d'infos

voir l'article

Site internet

salonemilano.it

Sous le titre SWISS ❤ DESIGN, six studios de design suisses étaient présents à l’édition 2018 du Salone del Mobile, qui s’est tenu du 17 au 22 avril à Milan. La vidéo porte un regard rétrospectif sur la présence suisse lors du prestigieux salon du meuble, offrant un aperçu de l’encouragement du design par Pro Helvetia.

 

Autres dossiers