Our Offices & Partners Abroad

Three of our liaison offices celebrate anniversaries.
To the festivities

Past Initiatives

Moving Words

Initiative Moving Words

Final report (in German)

Download as PDF

Swiss Translation Programme 2009 – 2012

Literary translations play a substantial role in the cultural exchange between different linguistic regions in Switzerland, and they are a precondition for spreading Swiss literature in countries where the original languages are not spoken. Such were the reasons for Pro Helvetia to launch its «Moving Words» programme in 2009 and thereby commit CHF 2.4 million to the promotion of literary translation. The aim of the support programme was to increase the number of Swiss books in translation both in Switzerland and abroad, to make a sustainable contribution to the professional qualification of Swiss translators, and to raise public awareness and appreciation of the art of literary translation.

In its four years of existence, «Moving Words» made a considerable impact:

  • 9 Swiss literature book series have been launched by renowned publishing houses worldwide (e.g. in the USA, China, Turkey and India).
  • 14 two-year support agreements with Swiss publishers have intensified literary exchange between the country’s linguistic regions.
  • Over 60 symposia and workshops took place at which literary translators were able to network and deepen their professional knowledge.
  • More than 70 international translators were given the opportunity of a residence at Translation House Looren in order to work on Swiss literature projects.
  • New instruments for the support and promotion of translation were developed.
  • Pro Helvetia raised the rate for literary translation by 25% (from CHF 40 to CHF 50 per standard page of 1,800 keystrokes).
  • «12 Swiss Books», an annual promotional magazine, was launched by Pro Helvetia.

All these activities and promotional measures were realised and financed by Pro Helvetia in collaboration with a number of institutional partners at home and abroad, such as the Swiss Authors’ Association ( AdS), which also functions as association for translators, the Centre de Traduction Littéraire at the University of Lausanne (CTL), Translation House Looren, the three Swiss publishers’ associations SBVV, ASDEL and SESI, the Swiss National Library, the S. Fischer Foundation and Literarisches Übersetzerkolloquium Berlin.

Outlook on translation promotion in future

Tried and tested promotional instruments developed as part of «Moving Words» are to be continued: the increased rate of payment for Swiss translators, residencies at Translation House Looren, project grants for Swiss literary translators, the Young Translators Partnership mentoring scheme, events on and with translations, and Swiss book series issued by international publishers. Besides the translation of fiction, plays and works of non-fiction on Swiss topics, the Swiss Arts Council will also specifically promote the translation of children’s and youth literature.

 

 

Other Initiatives

Nos bureaux et partenaires dans le monde

Trois de nos bureaux de liaison fêtent un jubilé.
Vers les festivités

Les Initiatives passées

Moving Words

Initiative Moving Words

Rapport final (en allemand)

Télécharger le PDF

Promotion suisse de la traduction 2009 – 2012

Les traductions littéraires apportent un soutien substantiel aux échanges par-dessus les frontières linguistiques en Suisse et sont une nécessité pour la diffusion de la littérature suisse dans les pays étrangers parlant d’autres langues. C’est la raison pour laquelle Pro Helvetia a lancé en 2009 «Moving Words», programme prioritaire d’encouragement de la traduction, auquel elle a consacré 2,4 millions de francs. En plaçant cet accent, la Fondation s’est fixé comme objectif d’augmenter le nombre de livres suisses traduits en Suisse et dans le monde, d’apporter une contribution durable à la qualification des traductrices et traducteurs suisses et d’amener le public à mieux percevoir et apprécier la traduction littéraire.

Pendant les quatre ans qu’il a duré, «Moving Words» a produit des effets:

  • 9 collections suisses ont été créées de par le monde (entre autres aux États-Unis, en Chine, en Turquie, en Inde) dans des maisons d’édition renommées.
  • 14 conventions de prestations de deux ans, signées avec des maisons d’édition suisses, ont intensifié les échanges entre les régions linguistiques du pays.
  • Pplus de 60 symposiums et ateliers ont offert aux traductrices et traducteurs littéraires la possibilité de constituer des réseaux et de se perfectionner dans leur spécialité.
  • Pplus de 70 traductrices et traducteurs internationaux ont bénéficié de séjours en résidence au Collège de traduction Looren pour travailler à des projets touchant la littérature suisse.
  • De nouveaux instruments d’encouragement et de promotion ont été élaborés.
  • Pro Helvetia a augmenté de 25% le tarif en vigueur pour les traductions littéraires (de 40 à 50 francs suisses la page standard à 1800 frappes).
  • La Fondation a lancé «12 Swiss Books», revue promotionnelle paraissant une fois par année.

Pro Helvetia a réalisé et financé toutes ces activités et mesures d’encouragement en collaboration avec divers partenaires institutionnels de Suisse et de l’étranger, dont l’Association des autrices et auteurs de Suisse AdS (qui est également l’association des traductrices et traducteurs), le Centre de traduction littéraire de l’Université de Lausanne (CTL), le Collège de traduction Looren, les trois associations suisses d’éditeurs (SBVV, ASDEL et SESI), la Bibliothèque nationale suisse, la Fondation S. Fischer et le Literarische Übersetzerkolloquium de Berlin // Colloque de traduction littéraire de Berlin.

Perspectives pratiques pour l’encouragement

Pro Helvetia conservera les instruments d’encouragement qui ont été créés et ont fait leurs preuves dans le cadre de «Moving Words», ainsi l’augmentation du tarif pour les traductrices et traducteurs suisses, les séjours en résidence au Collège de traduction Looren, les subsides à des projets de traductrices et traducteurs suisses, le mentorat «Young-Translators-Partnership», des manifestations accompagnant des traductions ou consacrées à des traductions, des collections suisses de maisons d’édition internationales. La Fondation encouragera à l’avenir, en plus des traductions d’œuvres littéraires, de pièces de théâtre et d’ouvrages spécialisés touchant des thèmes suisses, également les traductions de littérature pour enfants et adolescents.

 

Autres initiatives