Our Offices Abroad

Pro Helvetia Johannesburg

Joseph Gaylard

Head Pro Helvetia Johannesburg

johannesburg@prohelvetia.org.za


We have been committed to cultural exchange between Switzerland and Southern Africa through our liaison office in Johannesburg since 1998.

Areas of operation

South Africa, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambia, Namibia, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Tanzania, Lesotho, Swaziland, Malawi, Angola and Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Activities

To raise awareness of Swiss culture around the world, we forge ties with local event organisers, develop and nurture long-term partnerships, initiate co-productions with artists from the regions concerned and organise residencies.

The liaison office in Johannesburg also carries out a mandate by the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC). It supports the development of the local arts scene, fosters transnational cooperation and enhances the mobility of artists in the region.

Key focus

The programme is interdisciplinary in nature. Special emphasis is placed on the disciplines of visual and performing arts, music, design, new technologies and cultural outreach.

We focus on collaboration projects between cultural practitioners from Switzerland and Southern Africa, exhibitions of work by Swiss artists and residencies. The liaison office in Johannesburg is generally interested in projects at the interface of arts, social issues and politics.

Nos bureaux et partenaires dans le monde

Trois de nos bureaux de liaison fêtent un jubilé.
Vers les festivités

Pro Helvetia Johannesburg

Joseph Gaylard

Chef de Pro Helvetia Johannesburg

johannesburg@prohelvetia.org.za

Site internet

prohelvetia.org.za

Nous nous engageons depuis 1998 pour des échanges entre la Suisse et l’Afrique méridionale par le biais de notre bureau de liaison à Johannesburg.

Rayon d’action

Afrique du Sud, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambie, Namibie, Madagascar, Ile Maurice, Mozambique, Tanzanie, Lesotho, Swaziland, Malawi, Angola et République démocratique du Congo.

Activités

Afin de diffuser la culture suisse dans le monde, nous créons des liens avec des acteurs culturels locaux, nous développons et entretenons des partenariats durables, nous initions des coproductions avec des artistes des régions concernées et nous organisons des résidences.

De plus, le bureau de liaison à Johannesburg exécute un mandat de la Direction du développement et de la coopération DDC. Il soutient le développement de la scène culturelle locale, la coopération transnationale, ainsi que la mobilité des artistes dans cette région.

Point fort

Le programme est interdisciplinaire par nature. Une priorité est placée sur les disciplines des arts visuels, de la musique, du design, des nouvelles technologies et de la médiation culturelle.

Nous nous concentrons sur les collaborations entre acteurs culturels de Suisse et de la région, les tournées, les expositions d’œuvres suisses et les résidences. Le bureau de liaison de Johannesburg est généralement intéressé par des projets mêlant art et thèmes sociopolitiques.