Our Offices & Partners Abroad

«Interactions: A Guide to Swiss Underground Experimental Music»

Luis Alvarado

© Daniela Sánchez

Luis Alvarado (Lima, 1980) has developed an extensive oeuvre as curator of sound art projects and research linked to the alternative and avant-garde music scene in Peru. In addition, he is a poet and a sound artist. In 2004, Luis Alvarado founded the record label Buh Records as an active platform for various forms of experimental and exploratory music, through which he has edited more than one hundred productions and realized numerous concerts featuring more than forty international artists.

Listen to «Interactions»

swissmusic.ch
Spotify

«Interactions: A Guide to Swiss Underground Experimental Music» is a compilation of experimental music from Switzerland that has been released on the Peruvian label Buh Records. Nearly all of the 27 tracks by artists from different linguistic regions of Switzerland, were previously unreleased. They combine a wide variety of styles, ranging from free improvisation via ambient, noise and industrial music to raw Synthesizer sounds.

The project was initiated by Luis Alvarado, who spent the past few years exploring the Swiss experimental music scene. A brief research stay in Switzerland enabled him to forge numerous contacts and exchange ideas and experiences in collaboration with Swiss music practitioners.

Luis Alvarado on the Swiss scene in this genre:
«I knew the Swiss scene a bit. As I began to deepen my exploration I realized that it was a very large and very special scene because of its cultural diversity, which is something that also defines us in Peru. I like that there is a lot of radicalism, and a great interest in noise music and free improvisation music. There are many pioneer artists in Switzerland, but at the same time, I feel that it is all very eclectic. Artists sometimes work in different musical styles and this is a great virtue.»

In November 2019 the Swiss musicians Manuel Troller, Belia Winnewisser, d’incise and Julie Semoroz (JMO) will take “Interactions” on tour through 10 cities in 6 South American countries.

The project was supported by Pro Helvetia’s Music department and «COINCIDENCIA – Swiss & South American Cultural Exchanges». The results were released by the Peruvian label Buh Records as double vinyl in autumn 2019. There is also a CD edition available, which can be ordered free of charge via the following link:

Order

Nos bureaux et partenaires dans le monde

«Interactions: A Guide to Swiss Underground Experimental Music»

Luis Alvarado

© Daniela Sánchez

Luis Alvarado (Lima, 1980) a développé une œuvre importante en tant que curateur de projets Sound Art et de travaux de recherche liés à la scène musicale alternative et d’avant-garde au Pérou. Outre ces activités, il est également poète et artiste sonore. En 2004, Luis Alvarado a fondé la maison de disques Buh Records en tant que plateforme active pour divers genres musicaux expérimentaux et exploratoires, ce qui a permis la publication de plus de cent productions avec de nombreux concerts à la clé, ainsi que la participation de plus de quarante artistes internationaux.

Écouter «Interactions»

swissmusic.ch
Spotify

«Interactions: A Guide to Swiss Underground Experimental Music» est une compilation de musique expérimentale suisse parue sur le label péruvien Buh Records. La majorité des 27 morceaux d’artistes en provenance de toutes les régions linguistiques de Suisse a été réalisée exclusivement pour cet album. Ils réunissent une pléthore de concepts sonores – de l’improvisation libre à l’ambient en passant par la musique industrielle et le noise.

Depuis plusieurs années déjà, l’initiateur du projet Luis Alvarado se consacre à la scène musicale expérimentale suisse. Un bref séjour de recherche en Suisse lui a permis de nouer de nombreux contacts et d’entamer le dialogue avec des musiciennes et musiciens suisses.

Le regard de Luis Alvarado sur la scène suisse dans ce genre particulier:
«Je connaissais vaguement la scène suisse. En approfondissant mes recherches, j’ai réalisé qu’il s’agit d’une scène très riche et très particulière en raison de sa diversité culturelle – un aspect qui définit également la population péruvienne. J’aime le fait qu’on y trouve beaucoup de radicalité, ainsi qu’un intérêt très prononcé pour le noise et l’improvisation libre. De nombreux artistes pionniers résident en Suisse, mais en même temps, j’ai le sentiment qu’il s’agit d’une scène très éclectique. Les artistes pratiquent parfois des styles musicaux divers, ce qui représente un grand atout.»

En novembre 2019, les musiciens suisses Manuel Troller, Belia Winnewisser, d’incise et Julie Semoroz (JMO) partent en tournée avec «Interactions» dans dix villes de six pays sud-américains.

Le projet a bénéficié du soutien de la division Musique et de «COINCIDENCIA – Echanges culturels Suisse-Amérique du Sud» il est paru en automne 2019 sous forme de double album vinyle sur le label péruvien Buh Records. Egalement disponible en tant que CD, la compilation peut être commandée gratuitement sous le lien suivant:

Commander