Fast Forward: Support programme for mid-career musicians

Music
© Flora Mottini

With this new funding programme, we support for two years artists from Switzerland in the fields of pop, jazz and experimental music.

The selected musicians are at a decisive turning point in their careers, having already gained international experience and demonstrating strong potential for long-term international development. The two-year programme will enable the selected artists to pursue their work and elaborate a long-term development strategy with the help of a mentor.

Fast Forward aims to empower artistic personalities, deepen their strategic knowledge and expand their international networks. The programme provides substantial individual support to artists at a decisive point in their careers, enabling them to establish themselves long-term on the international scene.

Artistic mentoring and strategic development

The programme consists of artistic and curatorial mentoring, coverage of management costs, participation in two workshops (called Business Labs) organised by Pro Helvetia and devoted to strategic development and networking. Artists may also make flexible use of part of the funding, for example, to produce digital and visual content.

Recognised experts will be be invited to the workshops. Grantees may also request individual mentoring for the duration of the programme.


Pilot edition 2023 – 2025

As part of the pilot edition, five artists whose profile meets the programme requirements receive a support tailored to their individual needs.

Andrina Bollinger

Andrina Bollinger © Sabina Bösch

It is rare to find an artist whose voice is so compelling and convincing as that of singer, songwriter and performer Andrina Bollinger. Whether as a solo performer, with her group, or as a composer for film and theatre productions, Andrina Bollinger’s career has made her one of the most important figures in the Swiss music scene.

In recent years, she has concentrated entirely on her solo project, which she describes as avant-garde pop with jazz influences. Andrina Bollinger released her debut album ’Secret Seed’ (2022) and an EP titled ’Pleasure & Pain’ (2023) through Mouthwatering Records. 

Either as a soloist or with her group, she has performed at renowned international venues and festivals such as Montreux Jazz Festival (CH), Café de la Danse in Paris (FR), m4music Festival (CH), Winterthurer Musikfestwochen (CH), Istituto Svizzero in Rome (IT), Cully Jazz Festival (CH) and Dampfzentrale in Bern (CH). Andrina Bollinger lives and works in Zurich.

andrinabollinger.com

Mentor: TBA

Emilie Zoé

Emilie Zoé © David Wagnières

Predominantly self-taught, Emilie Zoé has been writing, composing and performing songs for over 15 years. The artist’s four solo albums have been released through the independent Chaux-de-Fonds label Humus Records, along with several collaborative projects, including ’/A\’ with Franz Treichler (The Young Gods, 2021) and ’Autisti’ with Louis Jucker (2017).

Emilie Zoé’s voice and magnetic presence have earned the artist much acclaim. Awards and prizes include ’Best Act Romandie’ (2019 Swiss Music Awards), ’Prix Suisse de Musique’ (2020), and ’Best Live Act’ (2022 Swiss Live Talents). Released in two instalments in 2022, the latest album, ’Hello Future Me’, was named ’Album of the year 2022’ by IndieSuisse.

The ’Hello Future Tour’ enables Emilie Zoé to perform on prestigious stages, including Nuits de Fourvière in Lyon (FR), with Kae Tempest at the Haldern Pop Festival and the Maifeld Derby Festival (DE), supporting Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds at the Auditorium Stravinski at Montreux Jazz Festival (CH), as well as supporting Muse in Bern (CH).

emiliezoe.com

Mentor: TBA

NNAVY

NNAVY © Emilien Itim

NNAVY is a singer-songwriter who has captured the hearts of audiences with her moving, soulful voice. Her debut EP ’Blue’ and its follow-up ’In Good Company’ showcase her unique and personal style, which blends R&B, soul and jazz influences.

She has performed at renowned festivals such as Montreux Jazz Festival, Jazz à Vienne and MaMa Music & Convention in Paris. She has opened for established artists such as Lionel Richie, Arlo Parks, Alfa Mist, November Ultra and Ben l’Oncle Soul. Her powerful, emotional stage presence has captivated audiences, leaving them spellbound.

Streamed over 15 million times on Spotify, NNAVY’s music has found a devoted following across the world. Her most recent EP, ’No Promises’, marks a new chapter on her musical journey, one that involves navigating fragility and empowerment. NNAVY’s powerful voice continues to establish her as one of the most exciting and promising artists in the Soul/R&B scene.

nnavymusic.com

Mentor: TBA

Noémi Büchi

Noémi Büchi © Brigitte Faessler

Noémi Büchi is a Franco-Swiss composer and sound artist who creates electronic and symphonic maximalism. Her music is defined by a delicate synthesis of textural rhythms and electroacoustic and orchestral abstraction. She explores the potential of consonance and dissonance, contrasts rhythmic physicality with disruption and emphasises irregularities, creating an expansive listening experience marked by detail and elevation. Difficult to place, her music sits somewhere between academic and popular, classical and underground, sound design and film music.

She has already been invited to prestigious national and international festivals, including Ars Electronica in Linz (AT), Romaeuropa Festival in Rome (IT), where she opened for Ben Frost, Maintenant Festival in Rennes (FR), Linecheck in Milan (IT) and Stadtsommer in Zurich (CH).

Her third album will be released by OUS Records in spring 2024. This label also released her previous albums (’Matter’ and ’Hyle’) as well as the first album of Musique Infinie, a collaboration between Noémi Büchi and the Swiss-Italian composer and installation artist Feldermelder.

noemibuchi.net

Mentor: Aïsha Devi

Julian Sartorius

Julian Sartorius © Nicole Pfister

Drummer, percussionist and artist Julian Sartorius uses his music to create new bodies of sound. Trained at Berne and Lucerne’s jazz schools by instrumentalists such as Fabian Kuratli, Pierre Favre and Norbert Pfammatter, he quickly developed his very own approach to music. His precise, complex and rhythmic patterns explore the possibilities of organic sound production. The sounds he discovers in found objects and reworked instruments are reminiscent of the vocabulary of experimental electronic music.

Sartorius has released several solo albums and produced audiovisual works. He has collaborated with many artists, most recently with Sophie Hunger, Sylvie Courvoisier, Gyda Valtysdottir, Dimlite, Shahzad Ismaily and Dan Carey. His percussion work features on albums by Kae Tempest, Matthew Herbert and Jameszoo. He performs live in clubs and galleries as well as at festivals.

juliansartorius.com

Mentor: Daniel “Duex” Fontana

The call for applications for the 2024-2026 edition of Fast Forward will open in July 2024. The artists will be selected by an international jury.

During the two-year programme, the selected artists may still apply to Pro Helvetia’s regular support measures, such as International presence  or Recording & international tour, as well as for all other types of support.

Fast Forward : programme de soutien pour les musiciennes et musiciens en milieu de carrière

Musique
© Flora Mottini

Avec ce nouveau programme d’encouragement, nous soutenons durant deux années des artistes de Suisse dans les domaines des musiques actuelles, du jazz et de la musique expérimentale.

Les musiciennes et musiciens retenus se trouvent à un tournant décisif de leur carrière, ayant déjà acquis une expérience internationale et présentant un fort potentiel pour un développement international à long terme. Le soutien de deux ans permet aux artistes de travailler sur leur production et d’élaborer concrètement une stratégie de développement à long terme avec l’aide d’un mentorat.

Au cœur du programme Fast Forward se trouvent l’empowerment des personnalités artistiques ainsi que l’approfondissement des connaissances stratégiques et l’élargissement du réseau international. L’objectif est de soutenir substantiellement et individuellement les artistes à un moment décisif de leur carrière et de leur permettre ainsi de s’établir durablement sur la scène internationale.

Mentorat artistique et développement stratégique

Le programme se compose des éléments suivants : mentorat artistique et curatorial, prise en charge des frais de gestion, participation à deux ateliers (Business Labs) organisés par Pro Helvetia et consacrés au développement stratégique ainsi qu’au réseautage. En outre, les artistes peuvent utiliser un certain montant du soutien financier de manière flexible, par exemple pour la production de contenus numériques et visuels.

Pour accompagner les artistes, des personnes de référence seront invitées durant ces ateliers et, en accord avec les musiciennes et musiciens, des mentores et mentors les suivront tout au long du programme.


Édition pilote 2023 – 2025

Dans le cadre de l’édition pilote, cinq artistes répondant à ce profil bénéficient d’un soutien ciblé et adapté à leurs besoins.

Andrina Bollinger

Andrina Bollinger © Sabina Bösch

Il est rare de trouver une voix d’une telle urgence et force de conviction que celle de la chanteuse, compositrice et interprète Andrina Bollinger. Que ce soit en solo ou avec son groupe, ou en tant que compositrice pour des productions cinématographiques et théâtrales, Andrina Bollinger a une carrière qui fait d’elle l’une des figures les plus importantes du paysage musical suisse.

Depuis quelques années, elle se concentre entièrement sur son projet solo, qu’elle décrit comme de la pop d’avant-garde accompagnée d’influences jazz. Andrina Bollinger a sorti son premier album « Secret Seed » en 2022 et un EP « Pleasure & Pain » en 2023 sous le label Mouthwatering Records. 

En solo ou avec son groupe, elle s’est produite dans des lieux et festivals internationaux renommés tels que le Montreux Jazz Festival (CH), le Café de la Danse à Paris (FR), le m4music Festival (CH), le Winterthurer Musikfestwochen (CH), l’Istituto Svizzero à Rome (IT), le Cully Jazz Festival (CH) ou la Dampfzentrale à Berne (CH). Andrina Bollinger vit et travaille à Zurich.

andrinabollinger.com

Mentorat : Mike Lindsay

Emilie Zoé

Emilie Zoé © David Wagnières

Artiste essentiellement autodidacte, Emilie Zoé écrit, compose et interprète des chansons sur scène depuis plus de 15 ans. Ses quatre albums solo ont été publiés sur le label indépendant Chaux-de-Fonnier Humus Records, ainsi que plusieurs projets de collaborations, notamment /A\ avec Franz Treichler (The Young Gods) (2021) et Autisti avec Louis Jucker (2017).

Par sa voix et sa présence magnétique, Emilie Zoé se forge une forte réputation de scène, et reçoit des récompenses telles que le prix « Best Act Romandie » aux Swiss Music Awards 2019, le « Prix Suisse de Musique » en 2020, et le prix « Best Live Act » des Swiss Live Talents 2022. Son dernier album, « Hello Future Me », paru en deux temps en 2022, a été nommé « Album of the year 2022 » par IndieSuisse.

La tournée « Hello Future Tour » est l’occasion pour Emilie Zoé de se produire sur des scènes prestigieuses, notamment dans le cadre des Nuits de Fourvière à Lyon (FR), avec Kae Tempest au Haldern Pop Festival et au Maifeld Derby Festival (DE), en première partie de Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds à l’Auditorium Stravinski du Montreux Jazz Festival (CH) ou encore en première partie de Muse à Berne (CH).

emiliezoe.com

Mentorat : TBA

NNAVY

NNAVY © Emilien Itim

NNAVY est une auteure-compositrice-interprète qui a conquis le cœur du public avec sa voix émouvante et chargée d’âme. Son premier EP « Blue » et le suivant « In Good Company » mettent en avant son style unique et personnel, mêlant des influences R&B, soul et jazz.

Elle s’est produite dans des festivals prestigieux tels que le Montreux Jazz Festival, Jazz à Vienne et MaMa Music & Convention à Paris, et a fait les premières parties d’artistes établis comme Lionel Richie, Arlo Parks, Alfa Mist, November Ultra et Ben l’Oncle Soul. Sa présence scénique puissante et émotive a captivé le public, le laissant envoûté.

Avec plus de 15 millions de streams sur Spotify, la musique de NNAVY a trouvé un public dévoué dans le monde entier. Son EP le plus récent, « No Promises », révèle un nouveau chapitre de son parcours musical, naviguant entre fragilité et empowerment. Avec sa voix puissante, elle continue de s’affirmer comme l’une des artistes les plus excitantes et prometteuses de la scène Soul/R&B.

nnavymusic.com

Mentorat : TBA

Noémi Büchi

Noémi Büchi © Brigitte Faessler

Noémi Büchi est une compositrice et artiste sonore franco-suisse qui crée un maximalisme électronique et symphonique. Sa musique se définit par une synthèse délicate de rythmes texturaux et d’abstraction électroacoustique et orchestrale. Elle explore le potentiel de la consonance et de la dissonance, oppose la physicalité rythmique à la perturbation et souligne les irrégularités, créant une expérience d’écoute expansive marquée par le détail et l’élévation. Sa musique est difficilement situable, entre académique et populaire, classique et underground, design sonore et musique de film.

Elle a déjà été invitée à participer à de prestigieux festivals nationaux et internationaux, comme Ars Electronica à Linz (AT), Romaeuropa Festival à Rome (IT), où elle a pu jouer en première partie de Ben Frost, Maintenant Festival à Rennes (FR), Linecheck à Milan (IT) ou encore Stadtsommer à Zurich (CH).

Au printemps 2024 sortira son troisième album sur -OUS Records. Ce label a précédemment sorti ses album « Matter » et « Hyle » ainsi que le premier album de Musique Infinie, une collaboration entre Noémi Büchi et le compositeur et artiste d’installation italo-suisse Feldermelder.

noemibuchi.net

Mentorat : Aïsha Devi

Julian Sartorius

Julian Sartorius © Nicole Pfister

Le batteur, percussionniste et artiste Julian Sartorius créé avec sa musique des corps sonores inédits. Formé aux écoles de jazz de Berne et de Lucerne par des instrumentistes comme Fabian Kuratli, Pierre Favre et Norbert Pfammatter, il a rapidement développé une approche musicale singulière. Ses patterns rythmiques précis et complexes explorent les possibilités de la production de sons organiques. Les sonorités que Julian Sartorius découvre dans des objets trouvés et des instruments remaniés rappellent le vocabulaire de la musique électronique expérimentale.

Julian Sartorius a publié plusieurs albums solo et réalisé des œuvres audiovisuelles. Il collabore avec de nombreux artistes, dont récemment Sophie Hunger, Sylvie Courvoisier, Gyda Valtysdottir, Dimlite, Shahzad Ismaily et Dan Carey. Son travail de percussion figure sur les albums de Kae Tempest, Matthew Herbert et Jameszoo. Il se produit en live aussi bien dans des clubs et des galeries que sur les scènes de festivals.

juliansartorius.com

Mentorat : Daniel “Duex” Fontana

L’appel à candidatures pour l’édition 2024-2026 est ouvert du 1er juillet au 1er septembre 2024. La sélection des artistes sera effectuée par un jury international.

Déposer une requête

Les musiciennes et musiciens soutenus peuvent continuer, durant la période de 2 ans du programme, à déposer des demandes pour les mesures habituelles de soutien de Pro Helvetia, comme Présence internationale ou Enregistrement & tournée internationale ainsi que pour toutes les autres mesures.